Ego Planet

Ego Planet

This is a Heavy Rock band with an Stoner Rock set of elements, so hear and enjoy!
January 11, 2024

The 90s were a fertile time for new musical tendencies. Obviously, some people prefer to stay in the past (namely the 70s and 80s), but the 90s brought some tendencies that created a link between the past and (to those days) the present. Stoner Metal/Rock tendencies created by acts as SOUNDGARDEN, MONSTER MAGNET, CORROSION OF CONFORMITY, CATHEDRAL, WARRIOR SOUL and others are still in use by many acts, even when they’re not classifying themselves as Stoner Metal. One band that proves such argument is EGO PLANET, from New Jersey (USA), as heard on “Ego Planet”, their latest release.

Organic and catchy, the band’s music is a form of Heavy Metal/Hard Rock heavily influenced by the acts above, so it means that they gave a strong accessible core on their musical work, but with those elements usual for Stoner Rock tendencies. But their songs bears along the filth and uncompromised outfit a strong melodic sense, and excellent choruses can be heard as well, along some essential groove. It’s filled with a massive and organic energy, and done with care on the arrangements (without overloading things), and it’s really a very good result. But one advisement: the use of Stoner Rock elements doesn’t mean that they’re into a Stoner Rock rigid sense.

The album was mixed and mastered by Kevin Antreassian at Backroom Studios in Rockaway (NJ), and he did the sound engineering as well. All to provide the album with an organic and ‘handmade’ sonority that allows the band to sound as it must to their songs gain life and personality; but it’s not crude or filthy in a point that damage the instrumental tunes. And the fine artwork of Vincentius Hanung for the cover states that the hearers are dealing with a band with some Stoner Rock/Psychedelic Rock elements.

The 8 songs of “Ego Planet” express an ample range of feelings, as depicted by moments as “Swallow the Sun” (a melodic and Stoner Rock-like distorted song with very good melodic vocals laying on a good and heavy instrumental heath), “The Call” (excellent melodies with a refined instrumental layer, with charming guitar parts), “Entertainment” (a massive and catching melodic weight is heard here, with fine and heavy work on the rhythms by bass guitar and drums), “Butcher’s Blade” (a good technical appeal is presented here, with a ‘sabbathic’ touch on the melodies), “Leviathan” (a short and melodic-orientated song nearer classic Hard Rock), and “Order of the Tree”. But for the addicted on physical media, there are two lovely bonus songs on the vinyl version: “T.H.E.N.” and “Dead Man’s Float”, both of then able to make the hearer buy a vinyl player.

EGO PLANET is really a very good name, and deserves praise as “Ego Planet” is playing. Listen to it, and enjoy:

8 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Ego Planet" Track-listing:
  1. Swallow the Sun
  2. The Call
  3. Reflection
  4. Entertainment
  5. Butcher’s Blade
  6. Leviathan
  7. Faceless Children
  8. Order of the Tree
Ego Planet Lineup:

Jarrett Mead - Vocals
Chris Baker - Guitars, Bass
Steve Iannettoni - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram