The wrong idea that anyone can have about a specific Metal genre is that it […]
January 22, 2022
Wombbath - Agma album cover

The wrong idea that anyone can have about a specific Metal genre is that it was created as one hears it. No, it's not like that. It demands a process of refinement and sharpening things. Death Metal, as an example, wasn't born as the band from the late 80's/early 90's played. DEATH, POSSESSED, MASTER, MASSACRE, CELTIC FROST and others were trying different things on their music, and NIHILIST did in Sweden. And as there are historical differences on the evolution between Swedish, North American and UK School, it's not so difficult to understand the 'trademarked' sound of each country. And this is what one can find on "Agma", the new album of the veteran quintet WOMBBATH.

They're a band from the old days, born when ENTOMBED, DISMEMBER, UNLEASHED, EDGE OF SANITY were beginning as well. So it's not a surprise to hear that they're into an Old School Swedish Death Metal, but with a difference: they use some experimental touches and have a personal approach on their musical work. It can be said that the band uses its experience to boost their old fashioned approach with a wild and young energy, filled with those classic Hardcore and Thrash Metal influences (what means that it's full of excellent aggressive hooks), but with a massive and solid weight that allows them to be aggressive. And it's really excellent. On the studio, the band worked again with Jonny Pettersson (a known producer into extreme Metal scene) on the recording, mixing and mastering. And all the efforts were done to catch an Old School model that can be understood by anyone. It means that the band used nasty and crude instrumental tunes to record, but with modern technologies of studio to sharpen things. And it worked in a great way, indeed.

The band offers to the fans 16 ear-crushing songs. And for a first time on "Agma", the blunt and aggressive insight of "The Law of Everything" (very good jigsaw tuned guitar riffs) and of "At the Giant's Feet", the bitter and nasty slow parts of "The Seventh Seal" and "Inquisition Reborn" (very good work of bass guitar and drums on both songs, giving rhythmic sustain), the massive weighty expression of "Misantropi Och Förakt" (some guitars' arrangements are unconventional for their musical genre), the introspective and sinister melodies used on "The Age of Death" (the grunts are fitting perfectly on the song's ambience), the brutal and classic Swedish Death Metal insight of "Divine Pain", and the somber and oppressive ambiences of "Departure from the Light" will do the work. But the entire album is very good, indeed.

If you're a Death Metal fan, pay attention when listening to "Agma". And praise the name of these veterans, because WOMBBATH is still aggressive and nasty, and still have a lot to offer.

8 / 10









"Agma" Track-listing:

1. The Law of Everything
2. At the Giant's Feet
3. The Seventh Seal
4. Inquisition Reborn
5. Blindly They Follow
6. A World of Destruction
7. Misantropi Och Förakt
8. Breathe in the Flames
9. The Age of Death
10. Oh Fire of Hate
11. In Decay They Shall All Fester
12. Divine Pain
13. The Dead and the Dying
14. Departure from the Light
15. Scorned Existence
16. On a Path of Repulsion

Wombbath Lineup:

Jonny Pettersson - Vocals, Guitars
Håkan Stuvemark - Guitars, Additional Vocals on "Departure from the Light"
Thomas von Wachenfeldt - Guitars, Violin, Additional Vocals on "A World of Destruction"
Matt Davidson - Bass
Jon Rudin - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram