A Prelude to Sorrow


To speak about what is called Prog Metal is not an easy task, because the […]
December 8, 2018
Witherfall - A Prelude to Sorrow album cover

To speak about what is called Prog Metal is not an easy task, because the label can't translate all the ample musical sets of possibilities that can be found on it. And to prove as conceptions can be denied and even discarded when the band wants to be different from the others, the North American quintet WITHERFALL comes to show how conceptions and words can't be easily destroyed. Their second album, "A Prelude to Sorrow", shows how things can be different from a main way to play a Metal genre.

They're into a trend that mixes the weight and catchy melodies from US Metal School (names as FIFTH ANGEL, MALICE, TYRANT, OMEN, SANCTUARY is good references) with an aggressive and modern Heavy/Prog Metal approach that names as SYMPHONY X uses. But on their musical work, some extreme moments can be heard (they're clear on "Moment of Silence"), and there's charming melodies and an amazing energy on all the songs, and a personal approach on their own work. Yes, it's excellent, just like that. The name of Chris "Zeuss" Harris on the mixing and mastering is a guarantee of a powerful and heavy sound quality. And it's precisely what is found on "A Prelude to Sorrow", because it's clean, but aggressive and heavy. It's the perfect sound quality, for it fits on the album's songs.

Heavy, bitter and nasty in some moments, "A Prelude to Silence" is an amazing album, and to choose the best songs is hard work. But "We Are Nothing" (an 11 minutes song that shows the perfect mix of a heavy sound with excellent instrumental technique and catching melodies), the violent "Moment of Silence" (great extreme Metal parts, and a good work from bass guitar and drums), the contrast between fast and slow parts shown on "Communion of the Wicked" (great work from guitars), the brutal grasp of musical weight on "Shadows" (excellent vocals, where the influence of Warrel Dane can be heard) and on "Ode to Despair", and the rhythmic shifts of "Vintage" are the best moments on the album. Modern sound impact, excellent melodies, so what does a Metal fan need more to have a great time?

Listen to "A Prelude to Sorrow" and let WITHERFALL be the guide into a total new musical world.

10 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"A Prelude to Sorrow" Track-listing:

1. A Prelude to Sorrow
2. We Are Nothing
3. Moment of Silence
4. Communion of the Wicked
5. Maridian's Visitation
6. Shadows
7. Ode to Despair
8. The Call
9. Vintage
10. Epilogue

Witherfall Lineup:

Joseph Michael - Vocals, Keyboards
Jake Dreyer - Guitars
Fili Bibiano - Guitars
Anthony Crawford - Bass
Steve Bolognese - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram