Rewind, Replay, Rebound (Live in Deutschland)


It seems that the new and the old can't exist side by side in the […]
January 9, 2021
Volbeat - Rewind

It seems that the new and the old can't exist side by side in the minds of many fans. It's a narrow-minded conception that one who love the old can't like the new (and vice-versa). It's a total and great trashy way of thinking and living, because you'll lose many great opportunities, and some of them you'll not take back as time takes over. And if you're living today, give a chance to yourself and know the musical work of the Danish quartet VOLBEAT. It's excellent, especially their new live album, "Rewind, Replay, Rebound (Live in Deutschland)".

The best feature in their work is the blend they do of aspects of many musical genres as Heavy Metal (the classic approach), Hard Rock from the 80's, Psychobilly, Rockabilly, touches of Groove Metal, and tons of Rock 'n' Roll elements, creating a heavy, catching and commercially accessible music that's hard to label properly. But their music is unstoppable, charming and seductive, and on this live album, a feature that becomes clear is that they're able to do the same things of studio recording on their shows, except that their energy is amazing greater. And the setlist of the album is really excellent, with many of their hits presented. And they're not economic, because they bring 27 songs, a feature that is not usual today (maybe many older bands could learn a thing or two with the quartet). It's a great live album, indeed.

The studio work is excellent. The recordings done by Dennie Miller and Mads Mikkelsen (this one on "Pelvis on Fire" and "Sorry Sack of Bones") find on the mixing of Jacob Hansen (mixing) and on the editions of Justin D'Angelo and Adam Boose (who did the mastering as well) the perfect team to make the songs understandable, but keeping the energy and live feeling of the album.

"Rewind, Replay, Rebound: Live in Deutschland" was recorded during their tour on Germany do divulgate their latest studio album, "Rewind, Replay, Rebound" (2019), and all their eras are shown on their songs, so it's a fine choice for those that still don't know VOLBEAT's work. But it's impossible to resist to the hooking appeal of "Lola Montez", "Pelvis on Fire" (a frantic Heavy 'n' Rockabilly that is full of energy and excellent vocals), the abrasive "Doc Holliday", the catchy and heavy Hard Rock melodies of "Sorry Sack of Bones" (what a lovely chorus and great guitars) and "The Gardens Tale", the frantic and dancing appeal "Sad Man's Tongue" (yes, these melodies incites the dancing), the commercial appeal shown on "When We Were Kids", the heavier and almost Thrash Rock riffs of "Slaytan" and "Dead but Rising", "Fallen" (another song with a clear accessible appeal on the melodies, but with a heavy and solid work on bass guitar and drums), "Die to Live" (again a blend between Metal and Rockabilly elements, creating a heavy and hooking song), "Seal the Deal" and "For Evigt", the melodic hooks of "Lonesome Rider" and of "Cloud 9", and... Well, forget about I and hear the entire album, because it's really a fresh bloom of air in an eroded scenario that still lives off past trends.

It's impossible to not admit that VOLBEAT is in the way to become the next great name of Metal in the coming future due the commercial growth on the latest years. And maybe "Rewind, Replay, Rebound: Live in Deutschland" can open many doors to the band, because it's one of the best live albums in the late 20 years.

All praise VOLBEAT!

10 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Rewind, Replay, Rebound (Live in Deutschland)" Track-listing:

1. Intro - Lola Montez
2. Pelvis on Fire
3. Doc Holliday
4. Sorry Sack of Bones
5. The Gardens Tale
6. Ring of Fire
7. Sad Man's Tongue
8. When We Were Kids
9. Slaytan
10. Dead but Rising
11. Fallen
12. Die to Live
13. Seal the Deal
14. For Evigt
15. 724
16. Cheapside Sloggers
17. Lonesome Rider
18. Parasite
19. The Everlasting
20. Cloud 9
21. Last Day Under the Sun
22. The Devil's Bleeding Crown
23. Leviathan
24. Let It Burn
25. Pool of Booze Booze Booza
26. Boa JDM
27. Still Counting

Volbeat Lineup:

Michael Poulsen - Guitars, Vocals
Rob Caggiano - Guitars
Kaspar Boye Larsen - Bass
Jon Larsen - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram