The Burning Fanatism


Since the beginning of the 90s, Black Metal left the deeper abyss from underground scene […]
December 11, 2015
Tundra - The Burning Fanatism album cover

Since the beginning of the 90s, Black Metal left the deeper abyss from underground scene to become a consolidated Metal style, with its own features and tons of bands and fans around all the world. This fact occurred due the rebirth of Black Metal on Norway, because Euronymous recreated the ways to play the style. Of course VENOM, HELLHAMMER and especially BATHORY gave their contributions, but the consolidation was given by MAYHEM. Of course evolution took its path back them, but since now, the echoes of what Euronymous created are still spreading through Metal scene. And we can see that on Italy, these echoes can be heard on the work of TUNDRA, a quartet from Rome and Lazio, that now is releasing their new album, "The Burning Fanatism".

To call them simply Raw Black Metal is a bit far from the truth, because even with this raw and brutal insight, we can see some musical refinement in some parts, with a ferocious music done with very good taste. Very good harsh voices, killing guitar riffs, a solid rhythmic session, nothing done with excessive musical technique, but with the needed one. And done this way, it turns into something really good.

Their sound quality is that one that Black Metal bands in a more traditional fashion prefer to use: raw. But not without a aesthetic sense of clearness. Of course they sound harsh and morbid, but enough wisdom to know that the listener must understand what they are playing.

Well, their songs are fine, having a good and homogeneous level of quality. But we can find their best moments on the grim "Disgust" (an aggressive and morbid song, with a slow and bitter paced tempo, presenting very good vocals), the ferocious and fast blow of "Breakdown" (with some morbid moments, and great work from bass and drums), the bitter "Insanity" (again using a mid paced tempo, having with very fine vocals once more), and the faster and depressive "Wrath" (very good riffs are presented here). But album is good from the beginning to the end, so you can hear without complains.

But they can do better than we hear here, without a trace of doubt.

8 / 10


"The Burning Fanatism" Track-listing:

1. Disgust
2. Oblivion
3. Breakdown
4. Insanity
5. Blurred (Instrumental)
6. Wrath
7. Revenge
8. Fanatism
9. Empty (Instrumental)

Tundra Lineup:

Thorns - Vocals & Drums
Shatraug - Guitars
Pesten - Bass

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram