Gazing at Medusa


What can evolution bring to an old and experienced Metal band? It's not an easy […]
October 27, 2018
Tourniquet - Gazing at Medusa album cover

What can evolution bring to an old and experienced Metal band? It's not an easy question to answer, because when this primal driving force acts, we can't even foresee what will happen. So if you want to see with your own eyes (and hear with your own ears) what I mean, take a hearing at "Gazing at Medusa", the new album from North American veterans from TOURNIQUET.

All that knows the band's work since the 90's must have in mind that their prior personality is to build a Thrash/Heavy Metal with clear influences from US Metal. But at "Gazing the Medusa", the band evolved a lot, putting any influences from extreme Metal genres on its music, along with modern sonorities touches. It's modern, brutal and heavy, but still bearing excellent melodies. And to see the names of Tim "Ripper" Owens on the vocals, Chris Poland on the guitars and Deen Castronovo on the vocals of "Gazing at Medusa" is to really make everyone's eyes open wide. And their personalities getting along with the veterans Ted Kirkpatrick and Aaron Garcia made of this album one of the greatest moments of the years. Melodic, aggressive, charming and bearing excellent choruses and harmonies... What could we ask for after that?

Ted Kirkpatrick produced the album, having with him in the mixing and mastering the hands of Aaron Pace. All works perfectly, bearing the aggressiveness of the instrumental tunes along with their charming melodies, and always showing weight. It's a perfect sound quality, indeed. And the work of Jason Juta on the artwork for the album's cover is really amazing, justifying the title of the album. The album's songs are all amazing, but you can start by the following set to get used to it: "Sinister Scherzo" (a charming piece of Heavy/Thrash Metal with very good tempos and a great work on the guitar riffs), "Memento Mori" (a heavier and slower song that bears a melancholic feeling, so it demands an excellent interpretation from the vocals), "All Good Things Died Here" (a faster song, with an Old School Heavy/Thrash Metal feeling), "The Crushing Weight of Eternity" (amazing melodies and a great work on guitars), "Can't Make Me Hate You" (a song filled with a deeper feeling and showing perfect vocals once more), and "Gazing at Medusa" (excellent melodies and what a lovely and catching chorus).

If you're a fan of US Metal, Heavy Metal or anything of good taste, listen to "Gazing at Medusa" and be seduced by one of the greatest albums of this year!

10 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Gazing at Medusa" Track-listing:

1. Sinister Scherzo
2. Longing for Gondwanaland
3. Memento Mori
4. All Good Things Died Here
5. The Crushing Weight of Eternity
6. The Peaceful Beauty of Brutal Justice
7. Can't Make Me Hate You
8. One Foot in Forever
9. Gazing at Medusa

Tourniquet Lineup:

Ted Kirkpatrick - Drums, Bass
Aaron Guerra - Guitars, Vocals
Tim "Ripper" Owens - Vocals (guest musician)
Chris Poland - Guitars (guest musician)
Deen Castronovo - Vocals on "Gazing at Medusa" (guest musician)

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram