Swim to Drown

When New Metal (sorry, but personally, I refuse to write the genre in a wrong […]
April 12, 2019
Swim to Drown - Fortress album cover

When New Metal (sorry, but personally, I refuse to write the genre in a wrong way) arose from the underground, it became a trend that was influenced by Groove Metal and some features from Industrial Metal from the 90's. Although the genre itself is not as great as it was, there are names being generated throughout the world, and from Zaragoza (Spain) comes SWIN TO DROWN, a sextet that is releasing their first album, "Fortress".

Even those who are not into their way must take your hats off to them: it's a strong, sinuous and greasy form of music, but always with catching melodies and very good choruses, using wisely the contrast between clean voices and harsh screams. And it's interesting to hear some New York Old School Hardcore influences on their songs (as can be heard on "Rōnin"). Yes, they´re pretty good.

The production had to deal with a band that can sound melodic and charming in some parts, modern and brutal on others and even some scratches' parts can be heard. And the final result is a sound quality that can blend all these elements without problems, but it's amazing their choice for instrumental tunes that aren't as greasy as the usual, making their music easier to understand.

They still have a ways to go, but the brutal approach of "The Truth Nobody Knows" (very good contrast between melodic moments with clean voices with harsh screams), the jumping moments on "Rōnin" (very good guitars and scratches, and it's a truly accessible song), the modern and almost Rap Metal songs "Dance Macabra" and "Headless" (this one is near something of what CYPRESS HILL used to be on the 90's on some moments), and the clean moments and chorus of "Broken Fishhook" are showing that their path is right.

Yes, although they're out of the cradle of New Metal (in other words, the USA), SWIN TO DROWN is really a great band that will hook all fans of modern ways of Metal with "Fortress".

8 / 10









"Fortress" Track-listing:

1. The Truth Nobody Knows
2. Rōnin
3. Nighingale Floor
4. Eclipse
5. Dance Macabra
6. CL0TH3SL1N3
7. Headless
8. Heroes
9. Party Crusher
10. Broken Fishhook

Swim to Drown Lineup:

Tony - Vocals
JuanK - Guitars
Álvaro - Guitars
Juan - Bass
Niko - Drums
Xus - DJ

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram