When Sanity Becomes Insanity

Suffering Sights

All the Latin American Metal scenes earn influences from USA and Europe Metal Schools and […]
August 17, 2022
Suffering Sights - When Sanity Becomes Insanity album cover

All the Latin American Metal scenes earn influences from USA and Europe Metal Schools and it's nothing new to state that. But some bands and countries seems to live endlessly under the heavy influence of the past, trying to be Old School in a form that only shows the lack of a personal insight on music. In Chile, one of the strongest scenes in Latin America, there are many very good names, but the trend to be Old School (here, trying to emulate the past). Unfortunately, "When Sanity Becomes Insanity", the first album of the quartet SUFFERING SIGHTS, gives the idea that the band left the garage to early.

They're a kind of Old School Death Metal with touches of Thrash Metal in the same vein of names as MASSACRE, DEATH and MASTER, and shows influences of SLAYER on its early releases. But the band, even with a good work (it's something to be praised and no one can deny they have potential and talent), is distorted by the clichés, and it's only doing what was done many times in the past. They're a good technical band, but they're still trying to be someone that's not them, a phase on a band's career that must be left in the days of rehearsal in the garage. The sonority reinforces the idea that these guys are trying to be someone else. The instrumental tunes, the recording, everything sounds like trying to be moldy and sound like the past is something that isn't acceptable of a band that releases and album. To be crude and aggressive doesn't mean to copy what was done in the 80's.

If there weren't so many good elements and features on the album, "When Sanity Becomes Insanity" would be a waste of time. "Suffering Sights" (some good catchy guitar parts), "Punishment Voids", "The Great Filter" (please, you're NOT Chuck Schuldiner on "Scream Bloody Gore" days on singing!), "Hypocrite" (the 'mom, I want to be SLAYER on the 80's' feeling is unbearable), "Worthy Acts of Hate" (here, one can check a good work on the rhythms created by bass guitar and drums), and "Corrupted Childhood" are depicting a band with too much potential, but that must forget the old albums and try to be what they are, because the world doesn't need clones.

Some rehearsals and shows would put things in their due places. If not, "When Sanity Becomes Insanity" will be a proof that SUFFERING SIGHTS is just trying to be a clone.

6 / 10

Had Potential








When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"When Sanity Becomes Insanity" Track-listing:

1. Suffering Sights
2. G.E.B
3. Punishment Voids
4. The Great Filter
5. Face the Reality
6. Hypocrite
7. Between Madness and Reality (instrumental)
8. Worthy Acts of Hate
9. Desperate Search
10. Corrupted Childhood

Suffering Sights Lineup:

Luciano Cabello - Guitars, Vocals
Francisco Silva - Guitars, Backing Vocals
Juan Guzmán - Bass
Matías Oyarce - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram