Apocalyptic Rhymes


We can say that classic Thrash Metal has three principal trenches: the one that is […]
November 23, 2018
Septagon - Apocalyptic Rhymes album cover

We can say that classic Thrash Metal has three principal trenches: the one that is more aggressive and brutal (the one where you can find SLAYER), the one that finds something that is aggressive and technical at the same time (where KREATOR can fit as a fine example), and the more melodic approach (where names as METALLICA and TESTAMENT are). The other ways are just blends of those ones, so to hear a band as German quintet SEPTAGON is not a surprising thing, but "Apocalyptic Rhymes" is a very good album.

Their musical work is based on classical melodic Thrash Metal, in a way that METALLICA did on "Ride the Lightning", and bands as WOSLOM are, in a fine mix between the aggressive approach and some fast tempos with traditional Heavy Metal melodies in the German vein. These last words mean that, instead of the use of influences from NWOBHM, they prefer to take their melodies from names as ACCEPT. It makes their musical work, done in an eroded musical genre, can sound fresh and new, with a modern energy and tons of good songs. Produced by the quintet itself, "Apocalyptic Rhymes" bears a solid and strong sound quality, with the use of modern recording technologies used to make something clean and modern, but powerful and with an "organic sound" idea permeating the songs (maybe it comes from the instrumental tunes they have chosen). Obviously, they deserve something better, but it's very good in the way it is.

The quintet shows a very good work throughout the album, and we can say that "Weight of the World" (very good melodic chorus, and what a good work guitars), the modern groove that appears in some moments on the aggressive "Home, Sweet Hell" (what a great work from bass guitar and drums), the sharp approach of the guitars on "Apocalyptic Rhymes" (that bears fine vocals as well), the melodic evidence of "The Unfathomable Evil" (the guitar solos are really very good), and the amazing energy of "Nothingness Awaits" shows are the best ones as a reference frame, for the album is really good.

It's just their second album, and the idea is that you'll must look for their first album (in the case of not knowing their work), and that their future will be great. For now, listen to "Apocalyptic Rhymes" as loud as you can, and see what SEPTAGON has to offer. You won't regret for that.

8 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Apocalyptic Rhymes" Track-listing:

1. The End
2. The Weight of the World
3. Home, Sweet Hell
4. Apocalyptic Rhymes
5. Make a Stand
6. The Unfathomable Evil
7. P.O.T.U.S.A.
8. Cosmic Outrage
9. Nothingness Awaits
10. Sunset Blood

Septagon Lineup:

Markus Becker - Vocals
Markus Ullrich - Guitars
Stef Binnig-Gollub - Guitars
Alexander Palma - Bass
Jürgen Schrank - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram