To the Other

Saturnalia Temple

Well, we are by now used to Stoner Metal/Rock. But nowadays, some bands are turning […]
February 16, 2015
Saturnalia Temple - To the Other album cover

Well, we are by now used to Stoner Metal/Rock. But nowadays, some bands are turning the style in other directions. Since bands like ST. VITUS, WITCHFINDER GENERAL and TROUBLE started back in the 80's, CATHEDRAL made some changes and put some 60's feeling on it, other ones nowadays are giving new directions to it. And this is good, for some new styles can come from these experimentations. And SATURNALIA TEMPLE, from Sweden, seems to Big Daddy here that is trying something in this way on their new album, "To the Other".

Here, they really play an oiled and powerful way of Stoner Metal, sounding very gross as earlier bands from 70's (especially BLACK SABBATH), but with an extreme vocal with some Black Metal insights. So we can say they're trying something new, and so on, from this alchemy we can get some good stuff, in this chaotic fusion of extreme vocals, nasty and raw guitars, pulsing and oiled distorted bass guitars and heavy drums.

The sound quality, as demanded by their style, is nasty and raw. But what were you expecting from a Stoner Metal band? But please, don't tear off all you hair: it doesn't mean that it's dirty to the point you can't understand what they are playing. No, never, you'll hear all instruments separately, but with a nasty sound.

Seven nasty, raw and long songs are waiting for your ears, being the best ones "ZazelSorath" (hear as the bass guitar is roaring the entire song under the raw guitar riffs), "To the Other" (a bit more melodic, with its beautiful insight, even being as abrasive as hell, and a very good guitar solo is presented along with bear roaring vocals), and the distorted and a bit experimental "Black Sea of Power". But don't get my worlds as a rule, and hear the album from the beginning to its very end.

Very good work.

8 / 10


When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"To the Other" Track-listing:

1. Intro
2. ZazelSorath
3. To the Other
4. Snow of Reason
5. March of Gha'agsheblah
6. Black Sea of Power
7. Crowned With Seven
8. Void

Saturnalia Temple Lineup:

Tommie - Vocals, guitars, drums
Peter - Bass

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram