New Years Day

Modern Metal genres are a very good source of new names, but to search for […]
June 7, 2019
New Years Day - Unbreakable album cover

Modern Metal genres are a very good source of new names, but to search for them is a very hard work, because the commercial success the genre had at the beginning of the past decade (due names as LINKIN' PARK and SLIPKNOT, to name a few) unleashed an invasion of bands, what eroded the genre and set the level of quality on low values. Today, as the success is over, few names last, and to see new ones arising isn't difficult, but not as easy as 10 years in the past. But the quintet NEW YEARS DAY, from Anaheim, California, unleashes something good on "Unbreakable", their latest release.

It's a modern Metal band, gathering that greasy and abrasive instrumental tunes with tender female melodic vocals, resulting in something that is filled with oppressive energy, excellent contrasts between aggressive parts with melodic moments, and excellent harmonies. They still have a lot of musical potential to use, but for now, their work is charming and extremely good. The sound production was done in a way that the band could sound modern and aggressive, but clear and defining the instrumental tunes, to make them understandable and accessible to the fans, but without losing the aggressive impact or the melodic appeal.

The fans won't complain about their work, as songs as the nasty "Come for Me" (very good use of electronic effects to contrast with the melodies and guitars, and an excellent chorus can be heard as well), the impact of the contrasts that "Missunderstood" bears, the charming greasy aggressiveness of the guitars on "Skeletons", the accessible appeal of "Unbreakable" (excellent vocals), the hypnotic weaving groove of "Break My Body" (very good bass guitar and drums presence), the accessible charm of "My Monsters", and the modern weight of "Nocturnal" are here to state. Yes, the'yre really very good.

"Unbreakable" is a charming album, but NEW YEARS DAY has a lot of to offer than is showed on it.

8 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Unbreakable" Track-listing:

1. Come For Me
2. Misunderstood
3. Skeletons
4. Unbreakable
5. Shut Up
6. Done With You
7. Poltergeist
8. Break My Body
9. Sorry Not Sorry
10. My Monsters
11. Nocturnal
12. I Survived

New Years Day Lineup:

Ash Costello - Vocals
Nikki Misery - Guitars
Austin Ingerman - Guitars
Frankie Sil - Bass
James Renshaw - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram