Heavy Rock Radio


There are musicians that are so fucking great that everything these guys do turns to […]
August 5, 2016
Jorn - Heavy Rock Radio album cover

There are musicians that are so fucking great that everything these guys do turns to gold!

Yes, that's the clear idea we have when we hear "Heavy Rock Radio", JORN's new album.

When this kind of album is released, there's a clear idea that inspiration has gone into making it. All of us already know that Jørn Lande's talent is something excellent, and even here, on an album with songs from other artists, he and his band mates are making them their own. And a reminder for the readers: not all of the artists are linked to Metal - such as KATE BUSH and JOHN FARNHAM. Yet even on these songs, ones that came from beyond our typical style, they do some truly incredible work!

Jørn Lande is the producer of the album, with the mixing done by Trond Holter (except for "Rainbow in the Dark" and "Stormbringer", which were both mixed by Tommy Hansen). The sound quality resulting from their work is excellent, fitting perfectly to the album's feeling; which demands a good amount of musical weight, along with some raw moments (and they are there). And the cover art is some very fine work from Stan-W Decker.

Well, on an album with covers of other bands, it's really difficult to choose the best moments, but the original idea of gathering together Metal, Hard Rock, AOR and even Pop songs is really something different.

With a (great) effort, I will try to point out the best moments of the album. And they are: "I Know There's Something Going On" (a FRIDA song, that here is presented in a more Hard/AOR format, due the excellent arrangements on the keyboards); the excellent Hard 'n' Heavy feeling presented on the elegant "Running Up That Hill" (an old song from KATE BUSH); the heavy dose of weight and AOR elements breathed on "Rev on the Red Line" (a FOREIGNER song, presenting excellent guitar and bass work); the old Pop song "You're the Voice" from JOHN FARNHAM, a success from the 80s that here gained a heavy version (filled with great keyboards and drum work); the old AOR hymn from JOURNEY, "Don't Stop Believin'" (that here shows the band's musical versatility, especially on the guitar solos, which are a true homage to Neal Schon's work); the weight given to EAGLES' "Hotel California", and obviously his versions of unforgettable songs that the God Ronnie James Dio sang with all his talent and soul: "Rainbow in the Dark" (from DIO's first album) and "Die Young" (from BLACK SABBATH's "Heaven and Hell"). And for those who'll buy the album, I have a suggestion: the Japanese version has an explosive version of OZZY OSBOURNE's "I Don't Know" as a bonus song.

Oh, you're saying that Big Daddy here didn't mention Jørn Lande's work on the songs. My answer is simple: do I really need to say or write something about one of the finest vocalists of the last 10 years?

JORN is really an amazing band, and "Heavy Rock Radio" is excellent!

10 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Heavy Rock Radio" Track-listing:
  1. I Know There's Something Going On (FRIDA Cover)
  2. Running Up That Hill (KATE BUSH Cover)
  3. Rev on the Red Line (FOREIGNER Cover)
  4. You're the Voice (JOHN FARNHAM Cover)
  5. Live to Win (PAUL STANLEY Cover)
  6. Don't Stop Believin' (JOURNEY Cover)
  7. Killer Queen (QUEEN Cover)
  8. Hotel California (EAGLES Cover)
  9. Rainbow in the Dark (DIO Cover)
  10. The Final Frontier (IRON MAIDEN Cover)
  11. Stormbringer (DEEP PURPLE Cover)
  12. Die Young (BLACK SABBATH Cover)
Jorn Lineup:

Jørn Lande - Vocals
Trond Holter - Guitars
Alessandro Del Vecchio - Keyboards
Thomas Bekkevold - Bass
Francesco Jovino - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram