The New Dark Ages


One feature that is usually forgotten when Metal comes to the center of any discussion […]
June 9, 2022
Gwar - The New Dark Ages album cover

One feature that is usually forgotten when Metal comes to the center of any discussion is fantasy. No, it's not a matter of talking about books or films, but when a band creates a concept and fits its musical work on it. Many acts are known for bringing things to such point, as MANOWAR, THOR, MERCYFUL FATE and VENOM. But on GWAR works things gained an unparalleled insight in the late years of the 80's. And they're here again with a new release, "The New Dark Ages".

As time passed by, the quintet had some changes, but their musical work is basically the same: a mix between many genres of Metal, Punk Rock and Rock 'n' Roll, but always with a refreshing vitality and strength. Of course touches of melodic tendencies of 80's Metal and classic Hard Rock can be found on the mix, but one fill find many different influences that they gathered throughout all these years. Maybe the fans can't have a deeper insight of how things worked from the past to the present, so the best is to hear and enjoy, because the album is really very good. As always, the sonority given to "The New Dark Ages" follows the level of the exigency imposed by the quintet: high, balancing weight, melodies and aggressiveness (due some roughness presented) in a defined sound where everything can be understood. And the band has Lzzy Hale (on additional vocals on "The Cutter") and Hey Steve on "Rise Again".

For those who know the band, to deal with "The New Dark Ages" will not be hard, because the trademark sound of the band is on it. But take a bit on "New Dark Age" (many Punk Rock and groove influences can be heard, with a good singing), "Blood Libel" (many melodic hooks can be heard under the aggressiveness of the guitars), "Berserker Mode" (a thrashing furious song filled with energy and a massive work of bass guitar and drums), "Unto the Breach" (a brutal and oppressive work creates a feeling of being crushed), "Completely Fucked" (a funny and nasty song, a typical feature of the band), "The Beast Will Eat Itself" (some chaotic moments are really very good, without tearing apart the charming melodies of the song), "Ratcatcher" (this mix between Hard Rock elements with traditional Heavy Metal is really excellent, and what good melodies on the vocals and guitars), and "Starving Gods", and enjoy as much as you want.

It's really good to hear that GWAR is still in great shape after all these years. One can say that it's not their best work, but "The New Dark Ages" honors the legacy of the band.

9 / 10

Almost Perfect








"The New Dark Ages" Track-listing:

1. New Dark Age
2. Blood Libel
3. Berserker Mode
4. Mother Fucking Liar
5. Unto the Breach
6. Completely Fucked
7. The Cutter
8. Rise Again
9. The Beast Will Eat Itself
10. Venom of the Platypus
11. Ratcatcher
12. Bored to Death
13. Temple Ascent (Death Whistle Suite)
14. Starving Gods (Death Whistle Suite)
15. Deus Ex Monstrum (Death Whistle Suite)

Gwar Lineup:

Blothar the Berserker - Vocals
BalSac, the Jaws of Death - Guitars
Pustulus Maximus - Guitars
Beefcake the Mighty - Bass
Jizmak Da Gusha - Drums, Percussion

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram