Alchemical Warfare

Dread Sovereign

Although many bands took a way into evolution in Doom Metal during the 90's (and […]
January 23, 2021
Dread Sovereign - Alchemical Warfare album cover

Although many bands took a way into evolution in Doom Metal during the 90's (and created an introspective, but yet elegant form of playing the genre with many influences from Gothic Rock and Pop Rock), many others prefers to play in a more traditional trend, even using influences from traditional Heavy Metal and Stoner Rock/Metal to improve things. In the last case is the Irish trio DREAD SOVEREIGN, as can be heard on "Alchemical Warfare", their new album.

Their musical worked is based on a blend of 80% of Doom Metal (obviously, the crude and nasty ways from TROUBLE, THE OBSESSED, WITCHFINDER GENERAL and ST. VITUS can be heard on their musical work), but adorned with elements from traditional Heavy Metal. Of course that it's not the most original form of music of all, but the honest and abrasive way of their music unleashes a storm of crude energy, and they're pretty good on what they want to do.

The production is what can be expected from a band with an Old School approach on Doom Metal: crude and organic, but the work of Ola Ejsford (mixing) and Chris Common (mastering) created something that allows the trio to express their musical ideas in a way that can be heard and understood without problems.

The trio still needs to sharp their music in a better way, but their musical talent is clear on songs as "She Wolves of the Savage Season" (a long song full of very good contrasts, and a solid work on bass guitar and drums), "The Great Beast We Serve" (this bitter and rusty Doom Metal ambience is always amazing, especially due the very good guitar riffs), "Her Master's Voice" (a massive and oppressive song, with good vocals), "Devil's Bane", and their personalized version for "You Don't Move Me (I Don't Give a Fuck)" (and old song from BATHORY that never was properly recorded, just for a Demo and is presented on the compilation "Jubileum Volume I"). They have guts, and carry on the older ways with their own personality.

All that's left to say: "Alchemical Warfare" is a very good release. But in the future, as DREAD SOVEREIGN becomes experienced, they'll be a great name in their genre.

8 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Alchemical Warfare" Track-listing:

1. A Curse on Men (instrumental)
2. She Wolves of the Savage Season
3. The Great Beast We Serve
4. Nature is the Devil's Church
5. Her Master's Voice
6. Viral Tomb (instrumental)
7. Devil's Bane
8. Ruin upon the Temple Mount
9. You Don't Move Me (I Don't Give a Fuck) (Bathory cover)

Dread Sovereign Lineup:

Nemtheanga - Bass, Vocals
Bones - Guitars
JK - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram