This Is It


A young boy grows up in Canada and turns his passion to music instead of hockey, and with that passion strives to deliver a unique and eccentric sound drawing inspiration from a personal journey of self-discovery.
April 16, 2024

From the EPK: “DEULLY is an independent rock musician hailing from Saskatchewan, Canada, that has been passionate about music since a young age and has been drawn to a diverse range of genres, from blues and jazz to hard rock and heavy metal. With a love for the way different sounds can come together to create something unique and has developed his own distinct sound. His music is a fusion of different styles, and his lyrics are honest and relatable, tackling themes such as depression, addiction, and self-discovery. With a commitment to creating authentic and meaningful music DEULLY is poised for a bright future in the music world. As he got older his love for music only continued to flourish. He began playing guitar and writing his own songs, honing his craft and developing his own unique sound. Today, he draws inspiration from a wide range of influences and genres, and his music is a testament to his love for the art form. Despite his growing success he remains humble and grounded and is always striving to create music that is authentic and meaningful. He is dedicated to his craft and is committed to continuing to grow and evolve as an artist in the years to come. With his distinct sound and captivating lyrics, DEULLY is quickly making a name for himself in the industry.” I will be reviewing his self-released (April 12, 2024) debut album “This Is It”.

Setting the stage beautifully for a high energy outburst of heavy grooving riffs that lead the way as the powerful deep vocals take center stage ripping straight through anchored by the precise backline of bass and drums on “Reflection” that have all the ingredients of the classic hard rock sound allure. The next three tracks “I’m Gone Inside”, “Can’t Keep Me Down” and ”No Room for Me in Heaven” all deliver three totally different fusions of tempos and melody soundscapes that vary from pure rock and roll, flirting with hair metal and an emotional heartfelt ballad all three fused by hearty, classic riffs and some snarky guitar chops balanced by the engaging and impassioned vocals that captivate with the same energy as the rest of the music. The title track “This Is It” is a choppy, hardened rocker with an anthem delivered chorus and slick paced infectious riffs that override the crunchy vocals that portray the transcendent storyline. “We Won’t Die Tonight” displays the toughness in the vocal stylings with a “I’m not here to make friends” attitude powered by a heavy dose of tight and turned down guitar work putting the listener on alert. Ending with ”Pretty Disease” is my favorite song on the album as all the elements come together interconnecting with deepening grooves and the impassioned vocal layering that’s hits on a surreal level. “This Is It” reflects personal journey of self-discovery and growth. It explores themes of resilience, love, loss, and hope where DEULLY draws inspiration from his own experiences and emotions, as well as from the stories of those around him and his rollercoaster ride of emotions as he continues his battle with mental health issues and hopes that this album resonates with listeners and serves as a reminder that no matter what life throws our way, we can find the strength to keep moving forward.

This Is It” is avery deep and thought-provoking album without being preachy, as I felt DEULLY presented his own personal journey with the positive message of hope and understanding proving that music, no matter what genre, is the best medicine.

8 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"This Is It" Track-listing:


1. Reflection

2. I’m Gone Inside

3. Can’t Keep Me Down

4. No Room for Me in Heaven

5. Just Because

6. I Own Tonight

7. This Is It

8. Own Your Life

9. We Won’t Die Tonight

10. Pretty Disease


Deully Lineup:


Darren Sawrenko   guitar, vocals

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram