A Prayer for the Loud


 The filthy catchy musical ways that MOTÖRHEAD and AC/DC created back in the 70's is […]
June 26, 2019
D-A-D - A Prayer for the Loud album cover

 The filthy catchy musical ways that MOTÖRHEAD and AC/DC created back in the 70's is still breeding new bands today. And their influences can hit guys from Death/Black Metal and Glam metal alike, because they're universal. So, it's nothing strange to hear a band as the Danish quartet D-A-D spewing forth such good music on "A Prayer for the Loud". Their genre could barely be labeled as Filthy Hard Rock, because it's full of energy and charming, but playing with a crude insight that gives their music a personal impact. Their melodies are easy to be understood and assimilated by the listeners' ears, but there's an untamed fury running within their music's core as well. It's not a new musical genre, but their insight is truly personal, indeed.

Recorded on the band's homeland, all being done under the tutelage of Nick Foss and Rune Nissen Petersen. And the final result is a sound quality that sounds translucent, where you can hear and understand each musical instrument without problems, but their focus on filth instrumental tunes resulted in something nasty and with the right amount of musical roughness. "Burning Star" is a filthy Sleazy Rock song, done with very good melodies and charming choruses, and where guitars are really playing very good riffs, and "Nothing Ever Changes" follows the same trend, but with a mid-tempo rhythmic outfit. On "The Sky is Made of Blues", the listener can find charming Pop Rock melodies, becoming a more accessible song this way. On "The Real Me", the balance between a rough Rock 'n' Roll song is entangle with excellent melodies and very good vocals. "A Drug for the Heart" is really an excellent ballad, and the chorus is amazing (and the bass guitar and drums are creating a good rhythm here). The mid-tempo melodic mammoth called "Time is a Train" and the savage Rock 'n' Roll called "Happy Days in Hell" forms a fine contrast. And these are their best moments on the album.

D-A-D is a good band, making of "A Prayer for the Loud" a very good album, but they seem to have more potential to make even more music. So, hear this one and expect great things of them.

8 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"A Prayer for the Loud" Track-listing:

1. Burning Star
2. A Prayer for the Loud
3. Nothing Ever Changes
4. The Sky is Made of Blues
5. The Real Me
6. No Doubt About It
7. A Drug for the Heart
8. Musical Chairs
9. Time is a Train
10. Happy Days in Hell
11. If the World Just

D-A-D Lineup:

Jesper Binzer - Vocals, Guitar
Stig Pedersen - Bass, Vocals
Jacob Binzer - Guitar
Laust Sonne - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram