Since the second half of the 90s, Italian Heavy/Power Metal is a style that gained […]
December 11, 2015
Centvrion - V album cover

Since the second half of the 90s, Italian Heavy/Power Metal is a style that gained many importance on Metal scene. After RHAPSODY OV FIRE started their career, excellent bands from the style appears on Italy (and to think that the country on the 80s had only few names on extreme Metal scene or from Punk Rock/Hardcore bands...). And due the fact the Metallians eyes turned to Italy, many bands from melodic styles, and from extreme ones, arose. And a veteran band from Heavy/Power Metal from that scene is CENTVRION, that now releases their fifth studio album, "V".

In a format heavier and powerful that we hear on Symphonic Power Metal we hear from their homeland, but without great efforts in using a instrumental technique, they had that same perfect balance between weight and aggressiveness we hear on bands as ACCEPT and DRAKKAR, with a elegance permeating their heavy songs. Their songs presents very good choruses, great parts with excellent guitar riffs, solid and heavy rhythmic kitchen, and powerful and excellent vocals (Roberto knows how to use his voice both on aggressive and low tunes as on high pitched ones).

Their sound quality is fine, giving the right amount of weight they need, but having a clear insight. And it's enough for their songs take flight and take our ears and hearts by assault. So, get assaulted by their music! All their nine songs (for "Caesar's Speech To The Senate" is an spoken intro, and "Burnin' Pyres" has two versions) are really precious, done with wisdom without losing that spontaneous feeling.

The thunderous and hooking "The Legionary" (a song with medium speed, good riffs and fantastic vocals, and what a wonderful chorus), the heavy "Non Omnis Moriar" (another song done in median speed, a heavy chorus and great work from bass and drums), "Eye For An Eye" (great song, another excellent chorus, and a bit more faster than the previous ones. And using a more aggressive high tunes on vocals), the burning catching power from "War Red Skies", and both versions for "Burnin' Pyres", for each one of them have their own value.

A fine album, indeed. Hear it!

8 / 10


When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"V" Track-listing:

1. Caesar's Speech To The Senate
2. The Legionary
3. Kommander
4. Non Omnis Moriar
5. Eye For An Eye
6. Sins Of The Nation
7. One Shot, One Kill
8. Days Of Mourning
9. War Red Skies
10. Parasite
11. Burnin' Pyres
12. Burnin' Pyres (Acoustic Version)

Centvrion Lineup:

Roberto "Robo" Cenci - Vocals
Leonardo Postacchini - Guitars
Fabio Monti - Guitars
Gianluca Mandolesi - Bass
Giovanni Pezzola - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram