The Human Condition

Black Stone Cherry

The last 10-15 years in the Rock scene show an unexpected feature: the ways of […]
December 30, 2020
Black Stone Cherry - The Human Condition album cover

The last 10-15 years in the Rock scene show an unexpected feature: the ways of the past and present are living together at the same time. Today, anyone can find a band with modern features, and another band with a sound that recovers the past elements. Of course that bringing back the past sonorities isn't so simple, because there are a flood of clones happening right now (as happens in any musical trend). But the North American quartet BLACK STONE CHERRY really does a very good musical work, as can be heard on "The Human Condition", their latest release.

Here the listener will find that same old and good Hard Rock from the 70's with clear influences from Blues and Country Rock, and a clear accessible insight in many parts. The dirty and grease music they play is filled with hooking melodies, and they can bring to mind names as LYNYRD SKYNYRD, LED ZEPPELIN and BAD COMPANY as influences, but they aren't copying, but writing their songs  in their own way, in a simple and organic form. The band itself made the production for "The Human Condition", and just few days before the lockdown for COVID-19 started. As the words above show, the band's option is for a greasy and organic sound quality that makes their music gain form. Of course that something better could be done (maybe using a modern and clean sense sometimes), but it's very good.

The bluesy and catchy melodies of "Ringin' in My Head" (very good vocals, indeed), the deeper and introspective approach used on some parts of "Again" (with the heavier ones presenting a powerful rhythmic work on bass guitar and drums, along with a charming chorus), the Groove Rock influences that appears on "When Angels Learn to Fly", (an accessible song that can go for any radio program), the abrasive weight of "Live This Way" (fine melodic guitar riffs) and of "The Chain", the raw and seductive approach of "Ride", and the charming appeal of "Some Stories" are the best songs for a first time on the album. But it's very good in all the moments, so enjoy!

BLACK STONE CHERRY really does a very good work, and it's better than many bands of this same genre that are just living off their past. "The Human Condition" is really great!

9 / 10

Almost Perfect








When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"The Human Condition" Track-listing:

1. Ringin' in My Head
2. Again
3. Push Down & Turn
4. When Angels Learn to Fly
5. Live This Way
6. In Love With the Pain
7. The Chain
8. Ride
9. If My Heart Had Wings
10. Don't Bring Me Down
11. Some Stories
12. Devil in Your Eyes
13. Keep on Keepin' on

Black Stone Cherry Lineup:

Chris Robertson - Vocals, Guitars
Ben Wells - Guitars, Backing Vocals
Jon Lawhon - Bass, Backing Vocals
John Fred Young - Drums, Percussion, Piano, Backing Vocals

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram