Raw Live (In Copenhell)


Finally this Danish Thrash Metal quintet released a live album, and it's AMAZING!
March 14, 2024

The name of the Danish quintet ARTILLERY needs no introduction. Even being a cult into underground scene, the band is famous for unleashing classic (and excellent) releases as “Fear of Tomorrow” (1985) and “Terror Squad” (1987), but tormented by problems, the continuity needed and support of the fans never were what their music deserves. And here, with more than 40 years of career and many tragedies (as the losses of Morten Stützer on 2019 and Josua Madsen on 2023), here is “Raw Live (in Copenhell)”, their first live album. Recorded at Copenhell Festival on 2022, the album was mixed and mastered by Søren Andersen (the known Danish producer who is known for his works with Glenn Hughes and ELECTRIC GUITARS, and who works with ARTILLERY since 2009’s “When Death Comes”) at Medley Studios, it depicts clearly what the quintet delivers without endless corrections and overdubs.

It sounds huge, aggressive and unpolished, but defined and understandable. It’s really an excellent sonority, with the instrumental tunes of the band set to kill!!! As written in the beginning, the name of ARTILLERY needs no introduction, because the quintet is the greatest name of Thrash Metal of Denmark. On the band’s playing, one can check a huge level of maturity, of wisdom, creating excellent melodic arrangements that temper the aggressiveness of their music. But be careful: these pioneers on Danish Thrash Metal seem to become better and wilder as time passes by, delivering energy in a way that younger bands could become envy of them.

As all live albums, one can complain about the absence of one or other song (no track of “Fear of Tomorrow” was used), but who would complain of songs as “The Devils Symphony”, “By Inheritance” (that shows excellent vocals, with Michael B., Dahl showing his talent), “Turn Up the Rage” (the guitars’ are really amazing, and what great melodic chorus), “The Face of Fear”, “Bombfood”, “The Challenge” (the opening track of “Terror Squad”, a classic with whiplashing guitars and thunderous work of bass guitar and drums on the rhythms), “In Thrash We Trust”, “10.000 Devils” (the melodies of this one amazing, with careful arrangements in all the instruments, but it’s great to hear that Michael Stützer and Kraen form an excellent guitar duo, indeed), “Legions” (a massive flow of energy that’s hard to resist), “Khomaniac” (Peter and Josua were playing solid and heavy as Hell, and fine part where the public and the band are in total synergy), and “Terror Squad”? Only someone who doesn’t know what Thrash Metal is about would think in such way!

Obviousl, “Raw Live (In Copenhell)” deserved to be a double live album, but it serves in two ways: as homage to the drummer Josua, and to show that ARTILLERY is still on fire!

10 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Raw Live (In Copenhell)" Track-listing:
  1. The Devils Symphony
  2. By Inheritance
  3. Turn Up the Rage
  4. The Face of Fear
  5. Bombfood
  6. The Challenge
  7. In Thrash We Trust
  8. 10.000 Devils
  9. Legions
  10. Khomaniac
  11. Terror Squad
Artillery Lineup:

Michael Bastholm Dahl - Vocals
Michael Stützer - Guitars
Kraen Meier - Guitars
Peter Thorslund - Bass
Josua Madsen - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram