ZEUP (pronounced "soup") is a trio from Denmark who describe their music as containing elements […]
By Michael Pataky
February 11, 2023
Zeup - Mammals album cover

ZEUP (pronounced "soup") is a trio from Denmark who describe their music as containing elements of stoner rock, punk rock, and grunge. They released their first full length album "Mammals" on January 6th, 2023. The album was released for streaming and will be released later in the year on vinyl on the Swedish record label Ozium Records. The album and the bands two previous EP's were recorded at the legendary Sweet Silence Studios in Copenhagen.

"River Of Tears" leads off the album with a straight forward chunky doom burner. Great guitar, tight rhythm section, and strong vocals. "Exist" follows up with a slower intro flowing into a groovy guitar riff that continues throughout the song. Reminding the listener of a classic doom song. The song ends with a great guitar solo, and then slowing down to the end.

"Out Of Season" is a traditional doom rocker that changes tempo mid-song and finishes with a groovy guitar solo. "Rising" is instrumental that allows the trio to develop a complete doom journey with an almost Celtic guitar sound interspersed with traditional doom. "Hollow" is another straight forward doom song with catchy riffs in a more classic style.

My favorite song on the album. "Days Go By" is a slower haunting song that highlights the rhythm section and psychedelic guitar solo. "Escape" is the second instrumental and longest song on the album, clocking in at over seven minutes. It starts off very up tempo with melodic drumming, flowing into soothing guitar riffs. The song abruptly ends, and then continues in a completely different direction, moving into a more psychedelic vibe. "In Real Life" closes out the album and reminds me of a NWOBHM self-single. Strong vocals with heavy music."Mammals" is a strong contender for one of the best doom albums released this year. If you are a fan of the genre, I recommend you download the album if you can't wait for the vinyl release later in the year. Zeup on their way to establishing themselves in the doom genre. They combine both vocal tracks and instrumentals, all with heavy, chunky music with tempo changes. This is their debut album, and I am looking forward to future releases.

9 / 10

Almost Perfect








"Mammals" Track-listing:

1. River Of Tears
2. Exist
3. Out Of Season
4. Rising
5. Hollow
6. Days Go By
7. Escape
8. In Real Life

Zeup Lineup:

Jakob Bach - Guitar, Vocals
Morten Rold - Bass/Backing Vocals
Morten Barth - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram