Why being so bleak about everything? There have been plenty of nowadays party goers that […]
September 26, 2013
Woslom - Evolustruction album cover

Why being so bleak about everything? There have been plenty of nowadays party goers that have been asking this infuriating question all the time without even stopping to think that there might be a cause for austerity. I agree that basing life upon fears and paranoia regarding a possible ending, a wholesome failure of the system and collapse of the human society, maybe be the foundation of a future brain damage. On the other hand, one should always be watchful, take hold of reality and stick with it as not everything may seem cheery as the modern day flower people would like to believe. Being constantly reminded that we are living in a big jungle of people, where the system isn't always in one's favor, the Brazilian Thrash Metal masterminds of WOSLOM, assumingly well educated in their society's evolution process, share their pains and doctrines with their sophomore distribution of "Evolustruction". Packed with diverse views, WOSLOM sought to establish their own version of Thrash Metal, delivering comprehensive material, which might be influenced by North American Bay Area, particularly MEGADETH and METALLICA, I was deeply grabbed by the sophistication music and practical precision at executing their vision.

It was a little difficult at first of not thinking if WOSLOM would be another Brazilian band with an inner wish to retain the old SEPULTURA grandeur out of the darkest pits of the earth. Fortunately that WOSLOM took upon themselves the decision of not attempting to patch old wounds (what can I say SEPLUTURA as one of Brazilian leading Thrash bands lost itself after 1991 just like METALLICA when it lost its marbles after 1990), but to head out and achieve something different. "Evolustruction", though at the get go wasn't that easy to comprehend since it isn't what you would refer to as a smooth sailing release, peaked my interest mainly due to its constant movement, never a dull moment, nothing too obvious, a chaos within an ordered structure. I wouldn't necessarily refer this band as a progressive Thrash act like HADES or WATCHTOWER, yet WOSLOM haven't been out there just to merely thrash the place up with fist load of force like the most of them. With "Evolustruction" I sensed an old hunger and conviction that eventually formulated their chosen path. Letting an artistic nature to plunge in, in favor of yet another piece of Thrash memorability, WOSLOM's songwriting appeared to be smeared with nonconformity towards the old genre, paralleling features of both old and new school Thrash that resulted in considerably ambiguous song structures, creative riffery, exceptional lead guitar work, carving with harmonies and incredible soloing and a pulsating flair of rhythmic compositions. By all means, with their progressivism, WOSLOM still maintained a bewildered Thrash imagery as bashing skulls is still a part of the deal.

As I stumbled upon the fierce attacks of "No Last Chance", "Breathless (Justice's Fall)" and "Evolustruction" (better his extended version at number 10), it might wasn't the truest form of Thrash as it is widely known, but it had a reek of freshness, clever diversity and enough brutality to go around. "New Faith" recapped the old wrath fling of old Thrash into ignition along with the band's inventive antics. Furthermore, right before ending this chapter, the "Evolustruction" sound engineering provided the album with the rightful character, maintaining the old Thrash sound pattern yet with sharp and polished sound made by modern means, a great contribution for the album's abilities to inspire while listening. In a nutshell, WOSLOM produced a fine revelation, clutching Thrash Metal and shaping it up to become more relevant.

8 / 10


When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Evolustruction" Track-listing:

1. Evolustruction
2. Haunted By The Past
3. Pray To Kill
4. River Of Souls
5. No Last Chance
6. New Faith
7. Breathless (Justice's Fall)
8. Purgatory
9. Breakdown (Mad Dragzter Cover)
10. Evolustruction (Extended Version)

Woslom Lineup:

Silvano Aguilera - Vocals & Guitar
Rafa Iak - Lead Guitar
Francisco Stanich Jr. - Bass
Fernando Oster - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram