Coming to us from Copenhagen is WOODPECKER and their latest album "320". The band formed […]
By Brian "Metal" Morton
October 1, 2019
Woodpecker - 320 album cover

Coming to us from Copenhagen is WOODPECKER and their latest album "320". The band formed in 2017 and is comprised of Sigurd Neimann on Guitars and Vocals, Jacob Kystgaard on Drums and Jason Cameron on Bass. This five song album is sure to sate your desire for hard rock that spans from the seventies all the way to the nineties.

The first song up is "Blood Flow" which only runs just under two minutes long, yet is a pretty powerful song. It honestly reminds me of MEGADETH meets ALICE IN CHAINS. All in all, the song was really well written and I enjoyed it quite a bit. The second song "Animal" keeps the same style up but honestly feels a little more aggressive and I love that. This song really hit the spot with its heavy riffs and great drum work.

Up next we have "Grave Digger" which in the beginning brings it down a bit and seems more morose than the previous songs. The song almost has a creepy vibe to it which was quite enjoyable. It also reminds me a bit of a jam band song which I really appreciated. The ending of the song was quite powerful and a great way to end the song. The fourth song on the album is "Punk" is definitely influenced by late seventies Rock mixed with grunge. For such a short song I found myself really liking this song. I am actually quite happy that it wasn't too long because you don't want to drag it out too much. The song was really fun to listen to. The last track is "Hand in Hand" which is the longest song on the album at just under six minutes long. This in my opinion was the best song on the album. It's almost a mixture of Doom Metal Meets Grunge and I fucking loved every second of it.

All in all, this album was really well written and the production and mixing was fantastic. If there was one thing I could ask for out of this band, it would be to add a few more tracks because it left me wanting more. Besides that, this album was fantastic an I will enjoy listening to it in the future. Great job guys! Keep up the great work!

10 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"320" Track-listing:

1. Blood Flow
2. Animal
3. Grave Digger
4. Punk
5. Hand in Hand

Woodpecker Lineup:

Sigurd Neimann - Guitars, Vocals
Jason Cameron - Bass
Jacob Kystgaard - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram