Constellation Of The Black Light


Coming from the great nation of Finland is WOLFHEART and their fourth full album "Constellation […]
By Brian "Metal" Morton
October 28, 2018
Wolfheart - Constellation Of The Black Light album cover

Coming from the great nation of Finland is WOLFHEART and their fourth full album "Constellation of the Blacklight". The band formed in 2013 and has released four full length albums which is astonishing to me. In just five short years they have blasted their way through the Metal scene and are well on their way to becoming one of the best Melodic Death Metal bands of our time. Tuomas Saukkonen, who disbanded his other projects to focus on WOLFHEART, is also the vocalist and one of two guitarists. I honestly feel that he made the right choice by sticking with WOLFHEART. The band is currently on tour with two other fantastic bands CARACH ANGREN and MORS PRINCIPUM EST on the Pitch Black Horror Over North America tour.

The way that Tuomas Saukkonen, Lauri Silvonen, Joonas Kauppinen and Mika Lammassaar have  evolved in these past five years is remarkable. The band is evolving more and more with each release, and this is why I believe that very soon, they will be headlining their own world tour. The band isn't an outright Viking Metal band but they do have plenty of similarities with that genre. Lyrics ranging from winter and nature, to the apocalypse and battle.

The opening track to this album is absolutely incredible, "Everlasting Fall" is six seconds of being ten and a half minutes long! It is by far one of the most epic introduction pieces I have ever heard. From the acoustic and melodic beginning, all the way up until the song blasts into it's Death Metal glory, this song is Metal gold. I am not sure how many bands have put the longest song first, but this was genius on their part. The second song which they released as their first single "Breakwater", had me looking forward to hearing this album when it was released. Their unique sound and catchy riffs are what made WOLFHEART one of my favorite bands and this song reminds me of why I started listening to them almost religiously. The first song I heard from them was "Zero Gravity" off of their album "Shadow World" released in 2015, this song is tied with that as my favorite songs from them.

"The Saw" is another single they released to promote this album and it does not disappoint. This is what Melodic Death Metal, to me, is all about. Harmonious instruments with perfectly laid out vocal patterns. Everything about this song reminds me of why I fell in love with Melodic Death Metal in the first place. "Forge With Fire" is the fourth song on the album and it completely changes the mood to a ferocious approach. The deep riffs and vocals, as well as heavier drums and bass, give off the feeling of a battle to come. I really enjoyed this song. "Defender" is definitely a contender for one of the best songs on the album. This is one that you will be banging your head to for quite some time. It's pretty damn epic, and not one I should listen to while driving because I would probably get in a wreck from playing the air guitar and drums. Up next we have "Warfare" which absolutely does not disappoint. It's definitely a song you would hear during a battle scene in a gritty movie about Vikings. Death coming at the main character from all fronts and you don't know whether they are going to live or die...

Sadly we are at the end of this wondrous journey through "Constellation of the Blacklight" with the final song entitled "Valkyrie". It's a grand ending to such an amazing album. It's highly energetic yet has a sense of sadness to it. I love when songs can make you feel more than one emotion at a time. I truly believe that I have listened to one of the best albums of 2018 this evening. I hope all of you appreciate this album as much as I do. This is their best album to date but I guarantee that the next one will be just as good if not better. WOLFHEART is on a roll and I don't think they are going to slow down anytime soon.

10 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Constellation Of The Black Light" Track-listing:

1. Everlasting Fall
2. Breakwater
3. The Saw
4. Forge With Fire
5. Defender
6. Warfare
7. Valkyrie

Wolfheart Lineup:

Tuomas Saukkonen - Vocals/Guitars
Lauri Silvonen - Bass/Vocals
Joonas Kauppinen - Drums
Mika Lammassaari - Guitars

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram