Escape Velocity

Vincenzo Avallone

Progressive and Power Metal mixed with some synth Rock and almost Death Metal aspects at […]
By Aaron "Five Magics" Price
November 18, 2015
Vincenzo Avallone - Escape Velocity album cover

Progressive and Power Metal mixed with some synth Rock and almost Death Metal aspects at parts, this is what you can expect from the independently released new album "Escape Velocity" from VINCENZO AVALLONE. This science fiction Prog Metal album is the real deal and is definitely worth at least a full spin by any fan of the genre.

This is a band that can take hints from all sorts of different bands whether it be DREAM THEATHER and PINK FLOYD in their more prog oriented songs and especially the instrumentals like "Gliese 581-G" which sounds like it takes a note right from "Dark Side of the Moon." There are very specific parts of this album that sound rather unique in the way it sounds very influenced. The opening track "SG-1" and "Stars Between Us" for instance sound very influenced by the likes of KAMELOT and NIGHTWISH respectively, while the title song being an instrumental goes through all different phases including some softer rock and a very SLIPKNOT induced heavy riff. What to expect from the title song is a band that took PINK FLOYD's "Great Gig In the Sky" and let SLIPKNOT play in the middle of it.

The outstanding song is the sci-fi romance song "Stars Between Us," where most songs generally use the idea of being planets away metaphorically, VINCENZO AVALLONE use it literally. A song about a forbidden love between alien and human, a death penalty for the alien female and an escape for love. Sci-fi and romance tend to go hand in hand and with the beautiful female vocals, the masterful musicianship and the very NIGHTWISH sounding inspiration, this song is a straight shot for cringy "aw you're so cute bb" twitter talk between long distance relationship couples.

This is a quite spectacular album, with all different sounds you'll never guess what the next song sounds like and that's what makes an album compelling, unique and worth listening to multiple times. Plus, who doesn't want to hear a PINK FLOYD/SLIPKNOT crossover right? It's a win-win!

7 / 10


When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Escape Velocity" Track-listing:

1. SG-1
2. Acension
3. Space Battleship 31
4. Gliese 581-G
5. Stars Between Us
6. By Your Side
7. Escape Velocity
8. Sub-Orbital Love
9. Samsara
10. Home Planet

Vincenzo Avallone Lineup:

Vincenzo Avalone - Vocals, Guitars, Drums
Kirill Konyaev - Bass

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram