Big Blue World

Unruly Child

Active since 1992, with the cult self-titled album, UNRULY CHILD comes back with their seventh […]
By Marco Anglieri
September 16, 2019
Unruly Child - Big Blue World album cover

Active since 1992, with the cult self-titled album, UNRULY CHILD comes back with their seventh album (or eighth if you count the second "Tormented" that was released as Marcie Free solo album) entitled "Big blue world" for the melodic rock king label Frontiers. The line-up is the original one, with Marcie Free (vocalist - King Kobra, Signal), Bruce Gowdy (guitarist -Stone Fury, World Trade), and Guy Allison (keyboardist - Lodgic, World Trade, Doobie Brothers) back together once again, after the reunion and the releases of "Worlds Collide" in 2010, "Down the Rabbit Hole" in 2014 and "Can't Go Home" in 2017.

UNRULY CHILD is synonym of class and they will never let you down, and this "Big Blue World" will also not disappoint you. Ten songs, 56 minutes of pure melodic rock, sung by one on the finest singer in the melodic scene. The highlights of the album are the opener "Living in Someone else's Dream", an uptempo song with a catchy chorus and a retro taste; the power ballad "Breaking the Chains", where acoustic sound are wisely mixed with some more powerful parts; "Are These Words Enough" has also a nice ballad touch, highlighted more in the acoustic version (offered as a bonus track) at the end of the album; in the piano-driven ballad is possible to enjoy the voice of Marcie Free as well as the delicate melodies pictured by Guy Allison.

One of the biggest surprise of the album is the intro to "The Harder they Fall": the speech "We Shall Fight on the Beaches" (given by Winston Churchill during the WWII) is widely known as the intro to "Aces high" of IRON MAIDEN; of course the similarities end here, although "The Harder they Fall" is, as well as the following "Down and Dirty" the rocky song that you would expect after such an intro. In the end, a very valid album from a legendary AOR band that can be enjoyed from the first minute to the last one, without any weaknesses or fault. Of course, highly recommended.

9 / 10

Almost Perfect








When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Big Blue World" Track-listing:

1. Living In Someone Else's Dream
2. All Over The World
3. Dirty Little Girl
4. Breaking The Chains
5. Are These Words Enough
6. Will We Give Up Today
7. Beneath A Steady Rain
8. The Harder They Will Fall
9. Down And Dirty
10. The Hard Way
11. Are These Words Enough (acoustic) [bonus track]

Unruly Child Lineup:

Marcie Free - Vocals
Bruce Gowdy - Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals
Guy Allison - Keyboards, Percussion, Vocals
Larry Antonino - Bass, Vocals
Jay Schellen - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram