Norwegian Fairytales


On one fateful, drunken weekend in 2003, in Oslo, Norway, Mr. Seidel and Trollmannen grew […]
By Katharine Hassett
January 27, 2019
Trollfest - Norwegian Fairytales album cover

On one fateful, drunken weekend in 2003, in Oslo, Norway, Mr. Seidel and Trollmannen grew bored of the party music around at the time and took it upon themselves to take matters into their own hands. With a website and six songs under their belt, the Norwegian Balkan metallers caught the attention of a German label formerly known as Solistium, soon giving rise to their first full length album in 2005, "Wilkommen Folk tell Drekka Fest!" Selling a good deal of copies, a deal for a follow-up was immediately made and in 2006, the story of "Brakebein" the Troll was born, both in lyrical form and a cartoon illustration. In these early days, TrollfesT would never play live, but with their two critically acclaimed albums gaining traction, the band went on to be a headlining act at the Ninth Barther Open Air Festival in 2007, continuing to play and headline various festivals and concerts around Europe, such as Ragnarök and Riedfest.

Now, eight full length albums into their career, TrollfesT puts forth a 41 minute escapade, the band stating: "Every song on the new album Norwegian Fairytales are based upon a Norwegian fairytale/folklore, with a little Trollfest twist added of course. So get ready to dive into the world of Norwegian trolls and other mythical creatures." "Fjøsnissens Fjaseri" opens instantly with a purely sonic energy that is hard not headbang along with, bolstering all of their talents into this five minute opener. "Kjettaren mot strømmen" continues with more catchy synth and saxophone that will no doubt echo in the listeners mind for days to come. "Espen Bin Askeladden" is possibly the most powerful track on the album, opening with a harmony of clean vocals that is soon destroyed with the chaotic high screams of Trollmannen. This particular song has a musical video that is so wild, you will just have to see it for yourself to understand how much of a party this band truly is.

"Småfolkets store bragder" opens with a heartfelt baritone behind melancholic synth that soon reverts to the usual soirée of sound. "Byttingenes Byttehandel" fleshes out some more accordion style synth with a fist bumping rhythm that proves to be a truly satisfying penultimate track. The album closes with an eight minute adventure into the troll woodland, opening with strings and samples of a waterfall, leading into a down tempo jam that bleeds raw emotion, soon featuring a female guest vocalist. With each song telling it's own story, standing up on its own, "Norwegian Fairytales" is an absolutely diverse album that features several guest musicians, making it one of the most exemplary undertakings to date for the True Norwegian Balkan metallers. It an album for those who normally shrug off folk metal and TrollfesT should have no issues booking more and more tours around the world for years to come.

9 / 10

Almost Perfect








When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Norwegian Fairytales" Track-listing:

1. Fjøsnissens Fjaseri
2. Kjettaren mot strømmen
3. Espen Bin Askeladden
4. Trine Reinlender
5. Fanden Flyr
6. De tre Bukkene Berusa
7. Småfolkets store bragder
8. Draugen
9. Deildegasten
10. Byttingenes Byttehandel
11. Nøkken og Fossegrimen spiller opp til midnattstimen

Trollfest Lineup:

Trollbank - Drums
Mr. Seidel - Guitars
Trollmannen - Vocals
DrekkaDag - Saxophone
Lodd Bolt - Bass

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram