My conclusion is that THEOCRACY are a band on top of their game, which in this case results in “Mosaic” being a very pleasant surprise.
November 27, 2023

THEOCRACY is a Progressive Power Metal band from Athens. The one in Georgia, USA, not the European capital of Greece. It started out in 2003 as a solo project for Band leader and vocalist Matt Smith. In that same year the debut album, simply called “Theocracy” was released. During the years that followed THEOCRACY developed into a proper band, which resulted in four more albums. Even the debut “Theocracy” got a remake, as it was remastered and rereleased in 2013. Since then the band has been a bit quiet, as the last album to see the light of day was “Ghost Ship” in 2016. Now, some seven years later, Matt Smith and consorts have decided to burden us with another effort to conquer the world. This, their sixth album, is called “Mosaic”.

And to be fair, it does what it says on the tin. It brings you Progressive Power Metal with all the typical elements. Usually that is a kind of music that bores me no end, but I have to admit that I really don’t have that issue with “Mosaic”. And the reason why is quite simple; on top of writing more than decent songs THEOCRACY are blessed with a very addictive and contagious amount of positive energy and enthusiasm. Plus they are not afraid to touch the Thrash side of Metal as well, be it very timidly. All these elements put together results in wishing to listening to the album time and time again.

As this is the first encounter I have ever had with THEOCRACY, you can understand my surprise at the quality of “Mosaic”. What does help with this kind of Progressive Power Metal is having a good sound, so that we, the listeners, can distinguish everything that is being played. Well, to put your mind at ease, that is duly covered. The mix of “Mosaic” is, one could say, electric, which only emphasises the enthusiasm of the songs on offer. I wish more bands and record companies would understand the essential; value of this feat, as it makes it easier to listen to, and makes one more amendable to sharing the experience with ones friends. (So, that should be enough of the royal I’s). My conclusion is that THEOCRACY are a band on top of their game, which in this case results in “Mosaic” being a very pleasant surprise. Oh, and I need to mention the lengthy anthem “Red Sea”. What a masterpiece of almost twenty minutes to finish off 66 minutes of total pleasure.

8 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Mosaic" Track-listing:

1. Flicker

2. Anonymous

3. Mosaic

4. Sinsidious (The Dogs Of War)

5. Return To Dust

6. The Sixth Great Extinction

7. Deified

8. The Greatest Hope

9. Liar, Fool, Or Messiah

10. Red Sea


Theocracy Lineup:

Matt Smith – Lead and Backing Vocals

Jonathan Hinds – Guitars, Backing Vocals

Taylor Washington – Guitars, Backing Vocals

Jared Oldham – Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals

Ernie Topran - Drums


linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram