The Eternal Suffering

Also read: THE ETERNAL SUFFERING interview with Assyrion THE ETERNAL SUFFERING is a Greek Black […]
By Yiannis Dafopoulos
May 28, 2010
The Eternal Suffering - Miasma album cover

THE ETERNAL SUFFERING is a Greek Black Metal act some of you may remember from my review on their 2008 EP "APOGNΩSIS". Greece has a long running history with legendary Black Metal bands like ROTTING CHRIST, NECROMANTIA, VARATHRON and more getting their name out there and achieving major success. But what about the fresh bands that try their luck? Most of the new Greek bands either prefer the classic sound or try really hard to play symphonic or majestic Black Metal without any particular success.

THE ETERNAL SUFFERING make all those bands eat their dust with their sophomore full-length release "Miasma" and their first through a label since their debut album and their aforementioned EP were both self financed. The trio from Athens had a hard time releasing this album, but as it seems it was worth the wait since "Miasma" seems able to compete with all the "high level" Black Metal titans out there. With a combination of the Norwegian and the Swedish scene, these guys combine the cold darkness with the haunting melodies of Scandinavia and deliver a Black Metal attack that will gather many new fans, as well as bigger labels for sure!

The band, with the help of Greek upcoming producer Steve Lado, produced a hellish bastard with 10 blasphemous hymns that bares influences from bands like DIMMU BORGIR, DARK FORTRESS, DISSECTION and NAGLFAR.

The tempo varies, since relentless blasts are "married" with mid tempo cold parts where Ypsailon makes your heart stop with his wicked riffs!

I guess that what they say about power trios is probably correct, since THE ETERNAL SUFFERING prove this theory even in the Black Metal scene! These three blacksters that act like real professionals can get really far if they want to, and I guess they will if they keep up like this. Check them out and you won't be disappointed.

8 / 10


"Miasma" Track-listing:
  1. The Sinister Calling
  2. Murder The Dawn
  3. Assail The Creation
  4. In Silence They March
  5. Miasma
  6. Nocturnal Delight
  7. The Burning Path
  8. Jaws Of Dark Demise
  9. Despair
  10. Iconoclasm Omega(DARK FORTRESSCover)
The Eternal Suffering Lineup:

Aphelian - Vocals, Bass
Ypsailon - Guitar
Assyrion - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram