Nowhere to Run

The Brink

From their Facebook page, "influenced by great bands of both past and present, Tom, Lexi, […]
The Brink - Nowhere to Run album cover

From their Facebook page, "influenced by great bands of both past and present, Tom, Lexi, Izzy, Gaz and Drake bring new life and energy to the table of today's current Rock scene, producing a vibrant, 21st Century form of balls-to-the-wall Rock N' Roll!" Newly signed to Frontiers Records, "Nowhere to Run" contains fourteen tracks.

Glam Metal is an interesting genre. Who really knows when it started, but early frontrunners include MOTLEY CRUE, RATT and DOKKEN. At its peak in the early 1990's, Glam bands were a dime a dozen. Eventually, the genre was nearly snuffed out, as MTv stopped playing their videos in favor of the new found Grunge movement. But, Grunge didn't last long, as there has been a resurgence of Glam bands as of lately...using the same formulas as in the past but also some acts are breathing new life in the genre. Frontiers Music has them all it seems.

For a fourteen-track album, let's get to some of the highlights. "Little Janie" opens with a raucous energy fueled by vocal harmonies and a down and dirty riff. They remind me a bit of FASTER PUSSYCAT or REQUIEM...a bit of a punky edge or attitude. "Break these Chains" has a similar sound. The riff is pretty basic and the focus is mostly on the vocals. You can hear the bass guitar in the mix and I always appreciate that. "Save Goodbye" is a tender little song that lets the emotions flow, with a slow grind and Quick's vocal dexterities. He sounds great in the lower ranges, and especially with the harmonies they work in. This song is a winner.

"One Night only" shows the sleazier side of the band...a slow grinding riff with wah-wah infused lead guitar parts, and an all-out chorus. The guitar solo drips with that sleazy sound as well. "Said and Done" is a faster moving slab of down and dirty Rock and Roll. It's pretty basic but it gets the job done with a nice little guitar solo. "Don't Count me Out" opens with lead guitar notes and a mid-tempo pace. It has a raucous energy...not re-creating the wheel but it has plenty of balls. "Nothing to Fear" is another slower, more emotional song. I like the mix they present here on the album. 14 tracks is a lot and one song after another of the same pace and sound can get pretty boring.

"Are you with me" has a bit of a POISON vibe to it. Nothing wrong with that at all. They were great at writing hooks and this one has an infectious hook as well. The big sound comes in the chorus. "Burn" closes the album...opening with a bit of feedback. The main riff then drops and it's full of energy from that point forward. Overall, I enjoyed their hybrid sort of sound...somewhere between classic Hard Rock and Glam. It's no nonsense Rock and Roll with very little fluff. But this is a double edged sword, as it means what you hear is what you get. There is no nuances to the music. They did very little to forward the genre into the 21st century. It's not a total disaster, and it had some great moments, but inconsistent overall for me.

5 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Nowhere to Run" Track-listing:

1. Little Janie
2. Break These Chains
3. Never Again
4. Save Goodbye
5. Take me Away
6. One Night Only
7. Wish
8. Said and Done
9. Fairytale
10. Don't Count on me
11. Nothing to Fear
12. No Way Out
13. Are you with me
14. Burn

The Brink Lineup:

Tom Quick - Vocals
Lexi Laine - Lead Guitar
Izzy Trixx - Rhythm Guitar
Gaz Connor - Bass
Davide Drake Bocci - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram