Get The Hell


"You've heard our name; you've seen our records, our t-shirts and our stickers. We're probably […]
By David "Capt. Fury" Garlow
January 2, 2014
Supersuckers - Get The Hell album cover

"You've heard our name; you've seen our records, our t-shirts and our stickers. We're probably the favorite band of someone you know and yet we're still a mystery to you. Well my friend, that's okay, I'm here to fill you in and help you to get to know the greatest rock-n-roll band in the world, the SUPERSUCKERS." Eddie Spaghetti.

Truer words could not be spoken as I had no idea who these guys were until this past summer when they blew into my town and some local bands that I knew were opening for them. They were all gushing wonders about this band and I was like 'who?' So went my introduction to the SUPERSUCKERS, so when Steinmetal here at Metal Temple asked me to review this I jumped at it! Now I have to go back and listen to the other eight albums after getting my ass handed to me by this, their ninth album.

"Intro" is just that, a bunch of crowd noise and some sirens wailing away and some mumbling at the end followed by some wicked riffage and a shot of punk rock adrenaline when "Get The Hell" hits your skull like a brick that gives you sexual tensions. It is that good. "Something About You" cranks out with some lead guitar work harmonizing with the band and THE RAMONES flavorings start to reveal themselves, especially the chorus work. The album is a masterpiece and nothing less. Straight ahead rock music and straight forward messages in the lyrics. "Fuck Up" is literally about being a fuck up for instance. Gluttony, obsession, raunchy, and the band takes on two cover songs and make them their own: Gary Glitter's "Rock On" and DEPECHE MODE's "Never Let Me Down Again".

So, excuse me for not knowing the band. Eddie forgives these sins as seen above, but I am kicking myself for not knowing a band that toured with MOTORHEAD, THE REV HORTON BEAT, BAD RELIGION and more. Every single one of those bands will tell you, this band is one of the best in the world and damn if the aren't right.

10 / 10


"Get The Hell" Track-listing:

1. Intro
2. Get The Hell
3. Something About You
4. Fuck Up
5. High Tonight
6. Pushin' Thru
7. Never Let Me Down Again
8. Gluttonous
9. Disaster Bastard
10. Bein' Bad
11. That's What You Get For Thinkin'
12. Shut Your Face
13. Rock On

Supersuckers Lineup:

Eddie Spaghetti - Vocals, Bass
Dan "Thunder" Bolton - Guitar, Vocals
"Metal" Marty Chandler - Guitar, Vocals
Chris VonStreicher - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram