Echoes from the Past


STRANGERLAND is an AOR band stretching across the counties of Greece and the United States. […]
Strangerland - Echoes from the Past album cover

STRANGERLAND is an AOR band stretching across the counties of Greece and the United States. I was not able to get much information from the record label's website, and so we will have to let the music do the talking. "Echoes from the Past" has eleven songs, and "Whenever it Rains" is the first. The opening riff is a little simple, but the band makes up for the lackluster beginning with some layers of keys and vocal harmonies. It's a charming but simple song, and I suppose that is OK, because music shouldn't be over thought. "Until my Heart" begins with keyboards and a smooth guitar riff. Two songs in, and the album could use some energy. David has a nice voice, but he isn't breaking any barriers down.

"Tears in my Eyes" has another simple riff, and the music here isn't exciting me much. This song has little more get up and go, but it's plagued by a singer who doesn't push much and overly simple riffs. "Summer Nights" has some nice melodies but again, the verses are just too thin. TO quote the Lord of the Rings, it sounds like "butter, being stretched over too much bread." The chorus isn't the issue here, because they are able to thicken that up with vocal harmonies. "Time" is effectively the seventh song in a row that has a sad tinge to the music. It's not that I can't connect with that, it just that this is AOR, and I need to hear more energy.

"Never" is the first song with an upbeat and positive sound. But again, and I hate to say this, but this sounds like "color the numbers AOR" patterned music for me. It just lacks inspiration. "Heroes of Everyday" is another upbeat song. I guess they saved these last few gems for the end of the album. Taken as a whole, however, it's too little, too late. "Follow your Dreams" closes the album. It's kind of bittersweet, but I like the ending message. Overall, this album just didn't get off the ground much for me. The final few songs has a positive tinge to them, but the first several were just too sad for AOR music. Combine that with a singer who doesn't push into the upper ranges, and an instrumental section which is thin, and this is what you get.

5 / 10









"Echoes from the Past" Track-listing:

1. Whenever it Rains
2. Until my Heart
3. Scent of a Rose
4. Tears in my Eyes
5. Summer Nights
6. Calling You
7. Time
8. Only Love
9. Never
10. Heroes of Everyday
11. Follow your Dreams

Strangerland Lineup:

David Cagle - Vocals
Alex Patman - Music

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram