The Panic Broadcast


Even though I thought I would write a huge review praising SOILWORK I realized that […]
By Yiannis Dafopoulos
July 16, 2010
Soilwork - The Panic Broadcast album cover

Even though I thought I would write a huge review praising SOILWORK I realized that these guys are getting even better as time goes by that they sometimes leave you speechless. I have been listening to "The Panic Broadcast" for several days, thinking about how I should start this review, but I couldn't come up with something. So, I will avoid the classic bio information that I guess is useless in this occasion and I will get straight to the point.

The only thing that has changed in the band since the "Sworn To A Great Divide" (2007) album is that the band has two new guitarists. SCARVE's Sylvain Coudret is one of them, but fear not my children since Peter Wichers is back! The man who was in SOILWORK since the beginning is back to show us how modern extreme Metal should sound like!

"The Panic Broadcast" reveals its true intentions right from the start with Verbeuren's relentless blasts and the incredible guitar melodies accompanying him. The aggression, the brutality, the heavenly melodies and the ass kicking groove are all here to make some noses bleed for one more time! Do you want speed? You have it! Do you want mid tempo groovy parts that will challenge your headbanging abilities? You've got them, too! Do you want sing along choruses that you will sing while walking down the street? Well, you know you will always get these from SOILWORK. The band leaves the "Sworn To A Great Divide" era behind and returns to elements that may remind you of "Steelbath Suicide", with some extra aggression just for the fun of it!

God, I still don't know what else to say. The production of course needs no comments since we are not talking about a random band here as you see. Clear as a crystal and heavy as a rock! What amazed me about this album is that from the very first time I listened to it until now, it always manages to drag me into its own world. It makes my fucking day! There is no way a SOILWORK fan won't love this and there are definitely many ways for someone who is not fan of this band to love it! I don't ask you to trust them, because all these years have proved that you really do. I just ask you to check out an album that spits in the face of mediocrity!

8 / 10


"The Panic Broadcast" Track-listing:
  1. Late For The Kill, Early For The Slaughter
  2. Two Lives Worth Of Reckoning
  3. The Thrill
  4. Deliverance Is Mine
  5. Night Comes Clean
  6. King Of The Threshold
  7. Let This River Flow
  8. Epitome
  9. The Akuma Afterglow
  10. Enter Dog Of Pavlov
  11. Sweet Demise (Bonus Track)
Soilwork Lineup:

Bjorn "Speed" Strid - Vocals
Peter Wichers - Guitar
Sylvain Coudret - Guitar
Ola Flink - Bass
Dirk Verbeuren - Drums
Sven Karlsson - Keyboards

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram