Danger Zone

Smoking Snakes

The band name is bad ass, their look is bad ass and they hail from Sweden, the hot bed of bad ass hard rocking bands, so I’ll add this bad ass joke: I tried smoking snakes but couldn’t keep them lit (sorry).
March 11, 2024

SMOKING SNAKES, the electrifying sleaze metallers hailing from Gothenburg, Sweden, have unleashed their highly anticipated debut album “Danger Zone” on February 9, 2024. Known for their high-energy performances and a sound that pays homage to the golden era of rock while infusing a contemporary edge. With this upcoming debut album, the band aims to solidify their place in the sleaze metal genre and captivate audiences around the globe: "It's our aim to start writing a new chapter for the music we love. We aren't trying to reinvent the wheel, but at the same time, we are using our own experiences and passion for the sleaze genre and are committed to keeping it alive" the band states. Produced by Jakob Herrmann, known for his work with a wide range of acclaimed acts such as ANTHRAX, RAISED FIST, HARDCORE SUPERSTAR, AMARANTHE and EVERGREY, lends his signature touch and promises “Danger Zone” to be a sleaze metal masterpiece. Recorded at his iconic Top Floor Studios.

In 2022, SMOKING SNAKES made a thunderous entrance onto the music scene, grabbing attention with a self-released demo that cranked up the volume to eleven. Their distinctive blend of powerful old-school rock with a modern edge garnered acclaim, drawing inspiration from iconic artists such as W.A.S.P., RATT, DOKKEN and KISS. Recognizing their potential, Frontiers Music Srl, a heavyweight label in the industry, eagerly welcomed them into their roster. With a perfect blend of raw energy, infectious melodies, and a commitment to the essence of sleaze and poised to make a significant impact on the global music scene.

Out of the gates with “Angels Calling” immediately reminds me of W.A.S.P. with the recognizable vocals’ stylings and the hard core, edgy thunderous riff of motorcycle riding studded leather clad boys out looking for trouble and letting nobody stand in their way as they take your beer, take your woman as you stand there helpless and weak, definitely a statement opening track. The next three tracks stay on the same “bad-ass mother” path with “Sole Survivors”, Run For Your Life” and Lady Lucky”, this band or album are not hard to figure out, they deliver straight forward power, bludgeoning hard rock that takes the listener on a turbulent and high-powered atmospheric petal to the metal ride. Not too much more I can say about the next three songs without sounding like a broken record as “Excited”, “Restless And Wild” and “Sorrow, Death And Pain” all come out full force lurking from a dark, deepened atmosphere of pounding guitars, pummeling bass and drums to give a sinister sound of opening the gates to hell.

Ending symbolically with “Rocking To The Morning Light” will have you doing just that, rocking with this album till the wee hours of the morning. It's not rocket science, it’s very simple, if you like W.A.S.P., you’ll love this album, if you like uncompromised in your face hard rock, you’ll love this band.

10 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Danger Zone" Track-listing:


1. Angels Calling
2. Sole Survivors
3. Run For Your Life
4. Lady Lucky
5. Excited
6. Restless And Wild
7. Sorrow, Death And Pain
8. There Is No Tomorrow
9. Who Am I
10. We Are Alive
11. Rocking To The Morning Light


Smoking Snakes Lineup:



Brett Martin - lead vocals, rhythm guitar
Andy Delarge - bass, backing vocals
Stan Ricci - drums, backing vocals
Leo Razor - lead guitar, backing vocals

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram