SIGIR is a Melodic Death Metal band from Finland. “Rainmaker” is the band’s debut album, […]
December 28, 2023

SIGIR is a Melodic Death Metal band from Finland. “Rainmaker” is the band’s debut album, and it has seven songs. The title track is first. The song is thick with symphonic elements and weighted with a variety of riffs. Although the vocals are entirely harsh, they are effective at getting across the MeloDeath sound. “The Lantern” is a spirited offering still thick with symphonic elements. The lively riffs keep shifting to suggest a band who know what they are doing…they are complex, but still quite accessible. “Depraved” is a slow song featuring melodic clean guitars along with a heavy riff. The combination of the two is exactly what you would want from the genre. The lead guitar work is also very well done and follows the melody line perfectly.

 “The Offering” is deep and filthy. At times, the main riff is fast picked, while other times, legato tones come through. Again, this variation helps to diversify their sound on the album. “Oath” is another heavy offering where the brutality is tempered with bright spots of melody. The symphonic elements are just present enough to be noticed, but don’t take over the sound, which is rich and complex, but also catchy. “From Time to Eternity” is the longest song on the album, and there is a lot going on. The basics of the sound feel to me like longing, or contemplating one’s life, and the extended lead guitar section puts a firm stamp on this sound.

“Enter” closes the album. It’s a fast moving sound with plenty of spirit, and more complex hooks that draw in the listener. Overall, I was impressed with the band’s debut album. Most of us Metalheads have long been aware of this genre, and I daresay it has become oversaturated as of the last decade. But SIGIR breathe some new life into the genre with their dazzling blend of symphonics and the willingness to ride the fine line that separates the two competing styles with finesse. Here is a band to keep an eye on for sure.

8 / 10









"Rainmaker" Track-listing:

1. Rainmaker

2. The Lantern

3. Depraved

4. The Offering

5. Oath

6. From Time to Eternity

7. Enter


Sigir Lineup:

Paavo Luttinen – Bass

Eetu Pennanen – Drums

Viljami Toikkanen – Vocals, Guitars

Valtteri Pitkänen – Guitars


linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram