Founded in 2003 in Vancouver, Canada, SCISSORTOOT have finally released their debut full album with […]
By Nick Webb
October 16, 2015
Scissortooth - Novagomorrah album cover

Founded in 2003 in Vancouver, Canada, SCISSORTOOT have finally released their debut full album with "Novagomorrah". Their melodic take on the classic thrash sound of groups like SLAYER, MEGADETH and DEATH ANGEL is mixed with a more modern outlook which creates a decent sound that definitely grows on you as the album wears on.

The songs are largely high-speed and riff based. Lyrically, there is a lot of aggression, and a lot of rage is evident in the whole album. The track "Yellowhead" immediately stands out as a groovier riff, with a few more stops and group riffing. It takes a while for the style of the vocalist to properly click, the very shouted style brushing on being out of tune at times, and there are definitely moments where it is very audible that the notes he is going for are slightly out of his range.

"10 30" shows off a harmonised guitar riff that is straight out of the 80s NWOBHM scene, before kicking into a thrashier main section. This song also has one of the best solos on the album, building up through different sections up to shred licks that leave no doubt that these guys are pretty big fans of Thrash's Big 4. The album has a lot in common with the original bay area thrash scene, fast playing and aggression, whilst remaining fairly melodic, rather than going all out with the aggression and getting that more modern sound.

The 8 minute epic that is "Nova Gomorrah" shows off the diversity and complexity of composition that SCISSORTOOTH have, emulating sounds that took many bands a couple of albums to develop. The slower, heavy, doom-laden first section, complete with chant-esque vocals builds till it becomes one of the faster tracks featured on the album.

While the album is not breaking any new ground for thrash - it's not the fastest, heaviest or most aggressive - this three piece are sounding true to the classic sound that they are aiming for, and it is a pretty good first album.

7 / 10


When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Novagomorrah" Track-listing:

1. Hostile Takeover
2. 10 30
3. Slowber
4. Yellowhead
5. Incision
6. Shoegazer
7. Common Thread
8. Rotting Alive
9. Nova Gomorrah
10. Rats
11. Wormwood

Scissortooth Lineup:

Derek Lundblad - Guitar, Vocals
Shawn Hoskins - Drums, Vocals
Ken Firomski - Bass

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram