The Judgement


The term "German power metal" is more than a genre, it is veritably a title; […]
By Daniel Fox
February 26, 2015
Scanner - The Judgement album cover

The term "German power metal" is more than a genre, it is veritably a title; the Heavy/Speed/Power veterans SCANNER of Gelsenkirchen have been an active force of facemeltery since 1986; the golden age of Speed. Although an active live band after the release of the previous album, "Scantropolis" in 2002, "The Judgement" would be released 13 years later in the beginning of 2015; it is clear that they are here to stay, because Satan knows, the world needs more REAL Metal bands. By no means a short album, "The Judgement" is a slab of meat; a melodic, technically brilliant, expertly carved, slab of meat.

This album does more work to "keep it real", as opposed to pushing new limits and come anywhere close to revolutionary. That being said, it will certainly be a Power Metal album to remember this year, and sticks out like a bleeding, battered fist amongst the sea of recent releases, simply because of its execution: it was made by Germans, after all. If someone were to ask of me, good examples of 'proper' Power Metal albums, this would be one of the albums I would point them to, alongside classic ICED EARTH and BLIND GUARDIAN. I would refer to tracks like "Nevermore", evoking the early 90's of ICED EARTH's career; having said that, Efthimios' terrific vocals remind me a hell of a lot of Tim "Ripper" Owens. It might have something to do with the man's truly-fucking-ridiculous high notes; he hits them, and he hits them for an incredulously long time, especially in the pounding, heavy-hitter "Eutopia". However, perhaps the best through-and-through vocal performance on the album can be found on "Battle of Poseidon".

Alas, he is but one man; although easily one of the band's greatest selling-points, as a class-A group of musicians, they have managed to forge a Power-Heavy masterpiece that would tread the fine balance between technicality and overdoing it and developing a solid-as-granite tracklist that belies it's surprisingly-accessible permeability as catchy scream-alongs. Masters of the riff and the melody, and I can say this with earnest; no track sounds the same. Remember ICED EARTH (I should bloody well hope you do)? Recall that their riffs and compositions stand the insurmountable test of time? SCANNER's efforts on this album express that same special, fiery charm; "Known Better" bulldozes all over the show with its selection of fine chord progressions, and riffs that move seamlessly back and forth between soaring powerplays and heavy chugs, or "Judgement", easily the fastest and most furious track on the album, that leaves scorched death in its wake.

If you are in a band that hasn't released new material in over a decade, and you are wondering how to come back with an impact, take a stroll down the memory lane of SCANNER's discography like you would that of FATES WARNING or CARCASS, and immerse yourself in "Judgement Day".

9 / 10

Almost Perfect

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"The Judgement" Track-listing:

1. Intro
2. F.T.B.
3. Nevermore
4. Warlord
5. Eutopia
6. The Judgement
7. Battle Of Poseidon
8. Pirates
9. Known Better
10. The Race
11. The Legionary

Scanner Lineup:

Efthimios Ioannidis - Vocals
Axel A.J. Julius - Guitars
Andreas Zeidler - Guitars

Jonathan Sell - Bass
Patrick Klose - Drums
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram