C.O.D. (Reissue)

Saint Vitus

"C.O.D." or "Children of Doom" was initially released in 1992 and at this point SAINT […]
By Daniel Silva
August 12, 2013
Saint Vitus - C.O.D. (Reissue) album cover

"C.O.D." or "Children of Doom" was initially released in 1992 and at this point SAINT VITUS had just come out of releasing three full-length albums, a live album and an EP with what many consider being the classical line-up but then in 1991 the lead singer Scott "Wino" Weinrich left the band and having already written this album they decided to continue, at the request of the record company, with COUNT RAVEN's Christian Linderson on vocal duties. Now in 2013 this album is being reissued, remastered and enhanced with two previously unreleased bonus tracks.

"C.O.D." wasn't very well received by the fans at the time of its release mostly for what was probably perceived as a departure from their trademark old, muddy and fuzzy sound as far as production is concerned adopting a cleaner one similar to what bands like CANDLEMASS, for instance, does. I personally don't really find a problem with this sound which in this new remastered and enhanced form has actually gotten better and clearer.

This album contains two bonus tracks recorded with this line-up, "To Breed a Soldier" and "The Chameleon" which only serve to enrich this album, as these songs together add twelve minutes to an already great experience. Funny enough these songs, to my ear, sound closer to SAINT VITUS trademark sound.

In conclusion it is great to see that this forgotten gem in SAINT VITUS catalogue is receiving this treatment as I find this album to be their most underrated one containing great songs like the title track, "Shadow of a Skeleton", "(I Am) The Screaming Banshee", among others...

8 / 10


"C.O.D. (Reissue)" Track-listing:

1. Intro
2. Children of Doom
3. Planet of Judgement
4. Shadow of a Skeleton
5. (I Am) The Screaming Banshee
6. Plague of Man
7. Imagination Man
8. Fear
9. Get Away
10. Bela
11. A Timeless Tale
12. Hallows Victim (Exhumed)
13. To Breed a Soldier
14. The Chameleon

Saint Vitus Lineup:

Dave Chandler - Guitars, Vocals on "A Timeless Tale"
Christian Linderson  - Vocals
Mark Adams - Bass
Armando Acosta - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram