Evil Within


Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: RUTHLESS; signed via Pure Steel Records, hailing […]
May 3, 2019
Ruthless - Evil Within album cover

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: RUTHLESS; signed via Pure Steel Records, hailing from Californian grounds - performing Power Metal, on their 3rd album entitled: "Evil Within" (released May 3rd, 2018).

Since formation in 1982; the band in question have 3 albums in their discography so far, I am introduced to their 3rd album entitled: "Evil Within". 9 tracks ranging at around 42:12; RUTHLESS arrange a demonized intricacy of hard-hitting Power Metal developments, the devilish "Storm Of Souls" begins the record - conveying amplified adrenaline, harmonious creativity and a blistering barrage of furiously frenzied formulas of flamboyant finesse & boistrously bouncy fabrications. Adroitly attributing crunchy creativity, groovy foundations of borderline firepower & expertise - diversed with wonderously prodegious ultilizations, vehement versatility & stampeding rampages of relentessly organic substance...reminding me a lot of old-school MERCYFUL FATE/DENNER/SHERMANN– atmospherically & instrumentally.

Consisting of Sammy DeJohn on vocals; the frontman consistently delivers clean, high-pitches pipes with raw screams of vengeful malice. "Atrocities" injects infectiously complex implementations of dextrous guitar elements from duo Kenny McGee & Chris Westfall; chugging into chaotic blends of meticulous mayhem, generating galloping haste and frolicking flair. "In Blood" demonstates the band's dynamic diligence; distributing dextrous rhythms that thunder with primitively progressive technicalities, showcasing quintessential quakes that roar with thunderously shredding rips...tearing up a fluidly polished sound production with originally memorable kicks. Belters like the titular track also assists with experimental efficiencies; embellishing on concretely gritty gnarliness, amalgamated into electrifying executions.

"Fear Never Sleeps" establishes inventively distinguished catchiness; culminating conceptual ideas, energetic craftsmanship in which supplies pounding proficiencies with rhythmic timing. Audible bassist Sandy Vasquez strums with virtuosic variety; sonically seamless thumps, stomping with profusely robust ramifications. "Skulls" excels with savage pursuits of wicked melodies that manifest pummelling meatiness from powerhouse drummer Joe Aghassi; who hammers his cymbals with battering, head-crushing hostility – contrasting fashionable trademarks of old-school, traditional tempos & soundscapes that will trigger your soul to fly in an instant. "Death March" distinctively balances an ambient blend of deadly tightness; transistioning salubriously sinister traits, rapidly swifting with nimble skill.

"The Brotherhood" contains captivating beats of engaging precision; persevering with punishing subtlety, that portrays remarkable stability... raging with razor-sharp speed & swerve. Overall concluding "Evil Within" with the finale track: "Crytic Ruins; I am compelled to say that RUTHLESS certainly outdone themselves with this one, definitely worth the time!

8 / 10









"Evil Within" Track-listing:

1. Storm Of Souls
2. Atrocities
3. In Blood
4. Evil Within
5. Fear Never Sleeps
6. Skulls
7. Death March
8. The Brotherhood
9. Cryptic Ruins

Ruthless Lineup:

Sammy DeJohn - Vocals
Kenny McGee - Guitars
Sandy Vasquez - Bass
Chris Westfall - Guitars
Joe Aghassi - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram