Rosy Finch

Yay, girl power! Well, two girls and a guy. Formed back in 2011 in Alicante, […]
By Laura Cosheril
October 5, 2015
Rosy Finch - Witchboro album cover

Yay, girl power! Well, two girls and a guy. Formed back in 2011 in Alicante, Spain, ROSY FINCH have been dominating the Stoner Rock scene in the short time they've been around. "Witchboro" is their debut release. Which comes as quite a bit of a wait, but oh so worth it; it really shows that Alicante can produce more than drunken Brits!

The first track on the album "Ursula" starts off with a catchy guitar riff (a little overdone on the wah pedal). The vocals kick in shortly after a little palm muted chugging rendition and they are eerily beautiful. We're then assaulted with some coarser, raspier vocals which fit the tone and sound of the song so well.

Two songs later comes the anthem "Miss Howls". It's not all that different from the previous two songs, almost moulding into one really long song. It's not bad by any means, but rather the exact same structure, pace and tone as its predecessors. Soft, angelic verses with a hellfire chorus; nothing changes.

Halfway through the album the whole genre changes. It's almost like the album is split into two ungodly long songs. "Will O The Wisp" is darker, heavier and frankly better than the previous five songs. I feel as though they were holding back in the first half of the album and the second half is about getting out their raw, unadulterated aggression and emotions. This is alternative rock in great form, they pour their hearts out into their music in the second half of the album which makes it a lot easier to appreciate their music.

The standout song of the album is "Mistress of Evil". There is so much going on in this song, your senses are piqued and on high alert so as not to miss a thing. I can't even put my finger on any particular aspect of this song that appeals to me. No sooner have I found an element which I love, it's disappeared and replaced by a new element that I love even more. It's a busy song, but not messy.

"Witchboro" is a strange album. You finish listening to the album and you feel so confused yet content and not even sure why. As I said previously, the first half of the album seems to be like a first date, you don't want to show your true colours, just in case you scare them off. But by the second date (the second half of the album) you don't give a shit, you let them see your true form. I will definitely be keeping an eye out for these guys future releases. "Witchboro" is like an unfinished story, I'm sitting here twiddling my thumbs waiting for the sequel!

8 / 10


When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Witchboro" Track-listing:

1. Úrsula
2. Hyde Formula
3. Miss Howls
4. Sexkinesia
5. Polvo Zombi
6. Will O' The Wisp
7. Ligeia
8. Mistress of All Evil
9. Daphne VS Apollo

Rosy Finch Lineup:

Elena García - Bass Guitar & Vocals.
LLuís Mas - Drums.
Mireia Porto - Guitar & Vocals.

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram