Recoil Vor

For the past couple of days I have been listening to EP "Othello" provided to […]
By Charlotte "Lotty" Whittingham
February 18, 2015
Recoil Vor - Othello album cover

For the past couple of days I have been listening to EP "Othello" provided to us by Australian Metal quartet RECOIL VOR and I can quite honestly I have never been more fascinated by their sound.

The story of RECOIL VOR begins in 2000 having been influenced by legends such as PANTERA and SOILWORK. They have since been successful with two full length albums behind them and numerous tours with STATIC X, HED PE and OTEP. So their latest addition to their discography gives me an idea why they achieved all that success. It's safe to say that I will be keeping a closer ear out for them.

The EP doesn't mess about as the chaos starts almost immediately with opening track "Human Dependency", have got to say this track certainly gives you a brutal wakeup call especially when one is tired and hungover. This marks a more than successful start to "Othello".

As the EP progresses, I grow more intrigued by the amount of anger that reflects exceptionally well within their music and lyrical content. Especially in one track ironically named "Sunshine" where I hate you is screamed a lot, I found this anecdote quite amusing. I also particularly liked the soft start of "The Mexican" via the soft bongos before it unleashes destruction and mayhem, in terms of this kind of Metal that is a huge compliment.

After having listened to this EP quite a few times in the past few days I have come to the conclusion that RECOIL VOR are definitely a band you should keep your eyes and ears out for. In fact you won't even need to keep your ears open as I am sure you will be able to hear their loud cries and wanting to witness what pandemonium they will create.

This is the effect that was upon me and I hope they make a trip over to the UK soon.

8 / 10


When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Othello" Track-listing:

1. Human Dependency
2. The Mexican
3. Sunshine
4. Don't Know Me
5. Spinning Wheel

Recoil Vor Lineup:

Wade Mckay - Vocals
Matt Martorana - Guitars
Evan Mckay - Drums
James Martorana - Bass

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram