Aeon Chaser


Norwegian Gnostic Rock band OBERON was founded by Bard Oberon in 1994 to communicate to […]
By Britney Twilley
December 9, 2018
Oberon - Aeon Chaser album cover

Norwegian Gnostic Rock band OBERON was founded by Bard Oberon in 1994 to communicate to the world his interests in the ways of "civilization, hermeticism and Rosicrucianism, gnostic spirituality and natural magic." His first album was released in 2014 to favorable reviews in the European underground press. In 2016, he was joined by Jan Petter Skretting, James F. and Tory J. Raugstad. They began writing and rehearsing what would eventually become "Aeon Chaser", which was released on October 26, 2018.

This album features eleven songs that all explore a wide range of sounds. Usage of acoustic passages and tons of atmospheric elements can be heard along with a progressive, folk rock. The album opens with "Omega", a very trippy, almost dreamy song reminiscent of YES. "To Walk in Twilight" is an intricate song with soaring vocals and memorable guitar melodies. The band makes use of layering many sounds into one cohesive song. One such song that this can be heard on is "To Live to Die". The soft atmosphere that the song starts with progresses as the layers ebb and flow and the addition of a piano arrangement is introduced.

"Black Aura" is a highly unusual song full of odd vocal arrangements mixed with heavier guitar. This creates an unpredictable song that keeps the listener entertained and on their seat. OBERON cites 60's and 70's rock as an influence. That influence can be felt on "Lost Souls". "Magus of the Dunes" is a dark, almost romantic song, haunted with an undertone of sorrow.

For OBERON, "music is a work of shamanistic and spiritual nature." This can be felt throughout their album and especially in their introspective lyrics. Every part of this album was fully thought through, from the lyrics, to the music and even the cover art and band logo. Everything about this album has deeper meaning. This is an album that may take more than one listen to fully appreciate its intricacies.

8 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Aeon Chaser" Track-listing:

1. Omega
2. Walk in Twilight
3. To Live To Die
4. Black Aura
5. The Secret Fire
6. Worlds Apart
7. Laniakea
8. Surrender
9. Lost Souls
10. Brother of the Order
11. Magus of the Dunes

Oberon Lineup:

Bard Oberon - Vocals, electric/acoustic guitar, keys, bass, percussion
James F. - Backing vocals, rhythm and lead guitars
Jan Petter Skretting - Lead, chorus and ambient guitars, percussion
Tory J. Raugstad - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram