Theories Of Light


As I have mentioned in my previous reviews about Progressive Metal releases, it is slowly […]
By Charlotte "Lotty" Whittingham
February 16, 2015
Numph - Theories Of Light album cover

As I have mentioned in my previous reviews about Progressive Metal releases, it is slowly becoming a favourite sub-genre of mine. The album that is reinforcing this statement is "Theories Of Light" given to us by NUMPH, this album is like no other in my personal opinion and it does a lot more than give listening pleasure.

After their first EP, a lineup change and a lot of critical approval, NUMPH have given us their first full length album. I shall go on to explain why this album will open more than just doors into the ever growing Metal community.

The somber tone of the guitars in the title track, which grandly opens the album up for us, provides a certain relaxed ambience that allows you to wind down after a long, hard day. The sweeping melody, the soft vocals and mellow instruments ensures this statement and I can imagine this sort of music helping you relax wherever you happen to be.

My personal favourite tracks on the album have to be "Dust Of Souls", "Deep Impact" and "In Dark Limbo", the very reasons being that these particular tracks reinforce what the critics have said previously. One that stuck out as being very accurate is that they create a landscape and atmosphere with their sound, I can concur that this is correct. It is definitely the kind of album you can put on, close your eyes and just imagine you are elsewhere. This is an escapist's vital tool.

The mesmerizing concluding track "Angel" leaves me at peace and feeling content. A perfect sum up of what NUMPH can produce for us.

So I am hoping from the glowing compliments in this report that I highly enjoyed this album, a definite treat for fans of Progressive Metal.

10 / 10


When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Theories Of Light" Track-listing:

1. Theories Of Light
2. Jacob's Ladder
3. Dust Of Souls
4. In Dark Limbo
5. Death And Rebirth
6. Deep Impact
7. Within The Core
8. An Angel

Numph Lineup:

Marco Bartoli - Vocals
Giuseppe D'Aleo - Drums
Antonio Conti - Bass
Luca Giampietri - Guitar
Alberto Vatteroni - Guitar 

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram