NIGHTHAWK comes to us from Sweden. On May 12, 2023, they released their sophomore album, […]
May 28, 2023
Nighthawk - Prowler album cover

NIGHTHAWK comes to us from Sweden. On May 12, 2023, they released their sophomore album, "Prowler." NIGHTHAWK approaches rock in a clean, sanitized way. Musically they are reminiscent of generic late 70's, early 80's rock-back when Rick Wakeman was considered god and the mark of a good vocalist was the ability to harmonize like URIAH HEEP. What I'm saying is lots of keyboards, clean vocals, innocuous lyrics, and safe riffs all leveled out on the sacrificial soundboard of radio-friendly classic rock.

I have said this about a number of similar bands that I won't name. This is a technically good band. Fine musicianship, great vocalist. But if the past can be considered like a multi-universe-with each dimension made up of different memories of the same time period humankind has experienced-it's like NIGHTHAWK got stuck in a really sad, boring version of an era that was actually a pretty good for others. But I digress.

"Prowler" has eleven tracks and taps out at 33 minutes. So, a short LP. There are at least two covers: the iconic "God of Thunder" by KISS off of "Destroyer"-one of the band's bestselling albums (though accurate sales data doesn't exist for that time); and "Cover Me" by Bruce Springsteen off of "Born in the USA"-his best-selling album of all time. I mention these facts because I'm sure everyone is thinking, particularly with the KISS reference, that popular does not equate with good. Which is the essence of NIGHTHAWK. They embody a sound that may be popular with a wide swath of undiscerning listeners but are anathema to metal fans. I had to listen to DEATH's version of "God of Thunder" while performing unholy rites to an unnamable god to cleanse my ears.

The remainder of the tracks are indistinguishable from one another. Middle-of-the- road, common rock with lots of keyboards and clean vocals. Even the band name is uninspired and vanilla, as is the album title. In recent vernacular: Basic. Also, no.

NIGHTHAWK. "Prowler." Clearly not my thing and I doubt if many or any Metal Temple fans will enjoy the album. If you are into mainstream early 80's rock, then you might give them a try. Good luck.

5 / 10









"Prowler" Track-listing:

1. Highest Score
2. Running Wild
3. Action
4. Flame Still Burns
5. Free Your Mind
6. God Of Thunder
7. Strike Like Lightning
8. Cover Me
9. Burn The Night
10. Playing The Game
11. See You Again

Nighthawk Lineup:

Robert Majd - Guitar
Björn Strid - Vocals
Magnus Ulfstedt - Drums
John Lönnmyr - Keyboards
Christian Ek - Bass/backing vocals

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram