White Flag


NEMESEA is a Dutch Alternative Rock/Metal band formed in 2002 in the city of Groningen. […]
By Caio Bueno
September 9, 2019
Nemesea - White Flag album cover

NEMESEA is a Dutch Alternative Rock/Metal band formed in 2002 in the city of Groningen.

NEMESEA released five studio albums, two live albums (the second is a remixed version of the first) and six singles. Today we wil talk about the band's fifht studio album "White Flag" which was released worldwide on last August 23 via Napalm Records.

The first song on the album is called "The Storm" and I must say that I don't consider it a good option to start an album. The intro of the song is long and has a keyboard mimicking the sound of na 8-bit game. The composition did not bring any News and feels like the same old Symphonic Metal practiced by so many bands.

The next song "Kids with Guns"  has some interesting parts and a guitar groovy riff that sounded cool with the soft vocals. The title track "White Flag" starts in na interesting way. The guitar riffs created a beautiful harmony and it's one of the best songs on the album. The melody of the chorus is really beautiful and well written.

The next song is called "Sarah" and starts with an interesting piano work, creating a beautiful ambient that blends with the vocals. It's a good ballad and a very beautiful song. "Don't Tell Me Your Name"  starts with a very interesting electronic sound. It's a different song on the album and they used traditional sounds in electronic music aligned with good vocal melodies. The song comes a bit like Industrial and Gothic Metal.

"Fools Gold" is one of the album's singles. It starts fast, with groovy riffs and the delicacy of the melodic vocals. The song has a calmer part where you can hear Progressive Rock elements and even reminded me of some stuffs from STEVEN WILSON. It has a cool guitar solo as well and it's a funny song. "Ratata" starts with elements of electronic music and it even reminded me of the old German electronic scene from the 80's.

The next song is called "Nothing Like Me"and it starts in a very Rock N' Roll style with agressive vocals and groovy guitars. It's one of the best songs on the whole album. Then comes the "Lion" and despite the name, it's possibly the sweetest song on the album. It has good melodies, it's sad and beautiful.

The "Heavyweight Champion" starts out as one of the other songs, using elements of electronic music. But after a while, it takes a whole new direction when beautiful guitar melodies comes in alongside the vocals. This song has the best vocal work in the whole album. It's impressive hear how clear, powerful and bright SANNE MIELOO can sing. "Rise", "Let This Be All", "Sayonara" and "Dance in the Fire" follows the same formula that the band used in the whole album.

I think their fans might gonna think it's a cool album. I have nothing much left to say about it.

5 / 10









"White Flag" Track-listing:

1. The Storm
2. Kids with Guns
3. White Flag
4. Sarah
5. Don't Tell Me Your Name
6. Fools Gold
7. Ratata
8. Nothing Like Me
9. Lions
10. Heavyweight Champion
11. Rise
12. Let This Be All
13. Sayonara
14. Dance in the Fire

Nemesea Lineup:

Sanne Mieloo - Vocals
HJ - Guitars/Vocals
Sonny Onderwater - Bass
Steven Bouma - Drums
Mathijs van Til - Keys

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram