Ориянские Сказанья (Oriana's Tales)


It's late August. The heat is still here, having almost 40 degrees. But something has […]
By Harry Papadopoulos
September 6, 2010

It's late August. The heat is still here, having almost 40 degrees. But something has to be done, like writing a review instead of being in a beach or under a shadow drinking something cold with your lads. So here I am, with MUNRUTHEL's "Ориянские Сказанья" (meaning "Oriana's Tales") album in my CD player, trying to write a few words.

MUNRUTHEL is a band from Kharkov, Ukraine. They are an one-man band, even though there were some other members in the past around, and were formed in 1997. From then on they have released three full length albums (I didn't even knew about their existence - not that I knew the band either). This is the second re-release of their second album and, to tell you the truth, I don't find any reαson why.

This album has nothing to do with Metal. It is an ambient album, with keyboards, bells, canned chimes, awful samples in general and many lyrics in Russian written in the booklet, that you won't hear a word in the album! The only vocals are some mumbling here and there and some Black Metal ones in "Overlimiting Chambers Of Kromeshniks" and "The Brilliance Of The Thundering Swords" (the only proper song of the album and not bad, to tell you the truth). The annoying electro "blip blip" things in the 'songs' made me press the stop button many times. To tell you the truth, I wasn't able to listen to the whole album at once! The "music" is like being programmed in a PC program by putting sounds here and there, with no meaning at all.

I really don't want to write anything else about this "album". I can't believe that two labels re-released this album, just with a different bonus track. I can only think of two things: one, they are not hearing well and two, they are friends with the man behind the band. Stay away. Just for that one song...

2 / 10

What the Hell?

"Ориянские Сказанья (Oriana's Tales)" Track-listing:
  1. Mother-Moon (Sunrise)
  2. The Lord Of The Bog Swamps
  3. The Procession Of Nav'
  4. Overlimiting Chambers Of Kromeshniks
  5. Darker Than Black
  6. The Preceding Dawn Dance Of Dennitsa
  7. The Night Side
  8. The Brilliance Of The Thundering Swords
  9. The Legend Of Sviatoslav
  10. The Mysteries Of Rusaliyas And Wormwood
  11. The Call Of Bereginias
  12. Twilight Of Judeochrist
  13. Father-Sun (Sunset)
  14. Hyperborea (bonus track, single 2008)
Munruthel Lineup:

(Current line-up)
Munruthel - All Instruments, Vocals

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram