Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: MOTORPSYCHO?; signed via Stickman Records, […]
July 18, 2023
Motorpsycho? - Yay! album cover

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: MOTORPSYCHO?; signed via Stickman Records, hailing from Norwegian grounds - performing Eclectic Prog, on their new full-length studio album entitled: "Yay!" (released June 16th, 2023). Since formation in 1989; the quintet in question have roughly around 25+ offerings in their discography so far of which I am introduced to their new, full-length studio album simply entitled: "Yay!" 10 tracks ranging around... 40 minutes - MOTORPSYCHO? arranges an intricately designed formula on some heavy-hitting Eclectic Prog developments.

Opening up with this acoustic strum; "Cold And Bored" starts off the record with effervescent buoyancy, distilling a euphonic but easy-listening element in chirpy execution and elegantly exquisite entrance. Harnessing a flamboyant distinction in atmospheric mellow, this zestful verve utilises vivacious yet synthetic musical momentum that's sulphurously organic yet mystifyingly technical & originally virtuoso with quintessential remedy - where this melodic foundation in hypnotic instrumental embrace executes an ethereal distinguishment which rivets with salubrious jumpiness amongst a harmonic jamboree of progressive songwriting musicianship that's uniquely abrasive - especially in the next enthralling track "Sentinels". "Patterns'' contrasts at a light-hearted fabrication that's ramified with sublime enchantments in which showcases nimbly swift maelstrom substance, as Lisa Maria Linnéa Isaksson & Josefin Runsteen manifests a heralding expertise in flourishing yet prodigious sanguinity that's profusely enlightening and full of furore.

"Dank State" & "W.C.A." forge a quirky yet snappy portrayal of intriguing characteristics, contrasting orchestral outré amongst a hybrid experimentation on sophisticated trance like exaltations make this record so far, a little bizarre but still makes more sense than Lou Reed's collab "Lulu" with METALLICA. I'd argue that this subgenre harnesses Eclectic Prog within the terms of originality yet it does seem to be a bit all over the place, which Prog is best known for in my opinion. "Real Again (Norway Shrugs & Stays Home)" & "Loch Meaninglessness & The Mull of Dull" shows off Tomas Järmyr's drum/percussion prowess with a heftier audible distortion, while Hans Magnus "Snah" Ryan sings with throaty but cordial delight and in joint swerve with Bent Sæther's synergetic bass flickers amongst a more synthetic punch on symphonic mobility with the flutes/violins within the transition of juxtaposed enriches invented here.

"Hotel Daedalus" & the penultimate song "Scaredcrow" best describe Eclectic Prog, which surge with tremolo raising crescendo effects amongst a flexible fundamental in enriching calamities in creatively dexterous dynamics that's rather strident whilst ambitiously... eclectic in a diverse but persistence perseverance of flair induced grandiosity. Finishing off the record with "The Rapture"; I am compelled to say that with this overall conclusion, MOTORPSYCHO? for sure showcased this vibrantly potent subgenre experience however... it felt linear and flat to the point where nothing made me want to go back to - whilst wondering should they have used this name at all. Bottom line; probably not the best album for us metalheads, but if you would feel a fix of some fulfilling instrumental bliss - this one is definitely for you. Safe to say, I wasn't sure on this one.

6 / 10

Had Potential








When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Yay!" Track-listing:

1. Cold & Bored
2. Sentinels
3. Patterns
4. Dank State
5. W.C.A
6. Real Again (Norway Shrugs & Stays Home)
7. Loch Meaninglessness & The Mull of Dull
8. Hotel Daedalus
9. Scaredcrow
10. The Rapture

Motorpsycho? Lineup:

Bent Sæther - lead vocals/bass
Hans Magnus "Snah" Ryan - lead guitars/vocals
Tomas Järmyr - drums & percussion
Josefin Runsteen - violin, viola
Lisa Maria Linnéa Isaksson - flutes/vocals

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram