Electric Revelation


Active in one form or another since 1992 (officially changing their name in 2004 to […]
By Matt Coe
April 14, 2014
Motorjesus - Electric Revelation album cover

Active in one form or another since 1992 (officially changing their name in 2004 to the current MOTORJESUS as the band tired of censorship issues because of their previous profanity laced moniker), the quintet unleash their fourth full length record, a 13 song platter that assembles the best in Stoner Rock, Classic Hard Rock, and Metal angst to make a potent, addictive cocktail stylistically.

Expect choruses that are easy to ingest and larger than life, musical hooks coming at you early and often, and a boat load of charisma and groove. John Bush-led ANTHRAX, CORROSION OF CONFORMITY during the 1990's and MUSTASCH are three bands that come to mind the most when listening to these tracks. The riffs are down and dirty, mean and lean - while the vocals have a grit that hasn't been heard from James Hetfield in quite some time, albeit through a southern /bluesy filter.

Highlights are numerous. "Midnight Rider" has this take no prisoners, up-tempo punk vibe - the spitfire Chris Birx verse delivery in line with Lemmy Kilmister. "The Run" opens with a guitar sequence that could be a distant relative to "Wild Child" from W.A.S.P. before turning into this semi-gallop stoner metal track that forces your feet and hands to bounce. "Rust" starts in dual guitar mode with slow licks that would come straight out of LYNYRD SKYNYRD territory, a moving ballad that builds to a tremendous payoff through dynamic musical shifts and a multi-part vocal harmony that will be hard pressed to leave your headspace. All the way through to the drumming/bass boogie element permeating "Ressurection Man", MOTORJESUS just have this intuition and sixth sense on where to lock onto the right riff/ chord combinations and hammer home the arrangements to become future set classics.

Considering this is my first exposure to the band, I'm very surprised they haven't tried to spread their wings into the North American market - as their sound is addictive and could rouse many audiences be it small bars to theater size arenas. If you love street level Hard Rock with stoner and metal textures, MOTORJESUS should be a no brainer purchase.

9 / 10

Almost Perfect

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Electric Revelation" Track-listing:

1. The Arrival
2. Trouble in Motor City
3. The Run
4. Speed of the Beast
5. Back in the Action Car
6. Rust
7. 100,000 Volt Survivor
8. Electric Revelation
9. Midnight Rider
10. The Warning
11. Resurrection Man
12. Dead Army
13. The Right Hand of the Devil

Motorjesus Lineup:

Chris Birx - Vocals
Andreas Peters - Guitars
Guido Reuss - Guitars
Roman Jasiczak - Bass
Oliver Beck - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram