Unveilance Of Dark Matter


Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: MOLOKEN; signed via The Sign […]
January 12, 2020
Moloken - Unveilance Of Dark Matter album cover

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: MOLOKEN; signed via The Sign Records, hailing from Swedish grounds - performing Atmospheric Sludge Metal/Post-Hardcore, on their 4th album entitled: "Unveilance Of Dark Matter" (released January 21st 2020).

Since formation in 2007; the quartet in question have 2 EPs, and 4 Full-Length Albums in their discography so far - I am introduced to their 4th album entitled: "Unveilance Of Dark Matter. 11 tracks ranging at around 42:10; MOLOKEN arrange an intrciately designed formula of heavy-hitting Atmospheric Sludge Metal/Post-Hardcore amalgamations. "This Love Is A Curse" begins the record; conveying gnarly fabrications, groovy adrenaline and amplified bounciness. Flamboyantly developing crunchy distortion, and a blistering barrage of frenzied harmonies that manifest quintessentially meticulous virtuosity. Flaired into a fuzzy implementation of progressively technical foundations, and a borderline slab of uniquely versatile vehemence - adroitly attributing concretely gritty elements with monstrously meaty punchiness.

Consisiting of Patrik Ylmefors on guitars/vocals; the riffer distributes an experimental embellishment of rhythmic thunder, chugging into a blistering frolick of chaotic creativity. Hardened hymns fuelled with rapidly swift nimbleness, trailblazing swag & sophisticated expertise. "Surcease" compiles dynamic dexterity; diligently detailed finesse, and a profusely robust substance of organic songwriting musicianship. Audible bassist Nicklas Bäckström thumps with pulsating momentum, while primitively showcasing rawly rough raspiness with pipes of throaty snarls & melodically rumbling pandemonium. "Shadowcastle" excels into a razor-sharp rush of wild mayhem; supplying mid-tempo surges, polished fluidity, and a sonically seamless ritual of ripping shreds with roaring soars that thunder with potently quirky snappiness.

Kristoffer Bäckström also on the electric guitar establishes riveting pursuits of vibrance with venomous spits and pipes that inject infectiously grunty gutturals while revolved around a complexly diverse formulaic of outrè panache & inventively immerse expertise. "No Ease No Rest" is a short 1:21 interlude with more ambient diversity while wonderously varied with rich soundscapes & pianist sublimity, while "Hollow Caress" ramps things up while transistioned with a dissonant yet resonant ramification salubriously lacerating killer instrumentation & moody vibes. Powerhouse pummeller Jakob Burstedt rambunctiously hammers his drums with steely precision; battering into an eerily daunting component of jumpy yet jarring thickness, juxtaposed with a bleakly dark atmosphere of oppressively ominous orchestration & heavy deadliness.

"Venom Love" rolicks with a hybrid dimension of linear harmonies, dominated with ragey vocals & an intense aura of doom-esquire fuzziness - while rocketing with droning force, grinding into a grandiose grandure of persevering stability. "Repressed" is another short one of 1:46 atmos; while "Lingering Demise" (being the longest on the record at 6:38) executes diverse contrast between aggressive guitars, before burning down a bit with somewhat acoustic lightness & while oozing out jazzy slime. "Unbearable" features harrowing distinctions, and more of those cacaphonic characteristics - furnacing face-melting metal with strong senses of total ruination & revererating noise. "I Still Can't Hear You" ensues another 1:44 break; striking with more patterns that flow into a breathing space of other worldly seperation, until the titular track itself overall concludes the record.

Bottom line; MOLOKEN certainly outdone themselves here, it is a dream discovery if you're looking for a black unveilance of dark matter - terrifying discords embody this balance of sludgy metal experience. Definitely worth the listen if you are looking for a sludgy/post-hardcore sub-genre culmination!


7 / 10









When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
"Unveilance Of Dark Matter" Track-listing:

1. His Love Is A Curse
2. Surcease
3. Shadowcastle
4. No Ease No Rest
5. Hollow Caress
6. Venom Love
7. Repressed
8. Lingering Demise
9. Unbearable
10. I Still Can't Hear you
11. Unveillance of Dark Matter

Moloken Lineup:

Jakob Burstedt - Drums
Kristoffer Bäckström - Guitar & Vocals
Nicklas Bäckström - Bass & Vocals
Patrik Ylmefors - Guitar & Vocals

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram