Damnatio Memoriae

Medusa's Child

MEDUSA'S CHILD is Heavy / Power Metal band hailing from Bern, Switzerland formed in 1999. […]
By Katarzyna Zakolska
December 9, 2013
Medusa's Child - Damnatio Memoriae album cover

MEDUSA'S CHILD is Heavy / Power Metal band hailing from Bern, Switzerland formed in 1999. Until lately, the band released two albums - "Awake" in 2000 and "Immortal" in 2004. Originally the band's latest "Damnatio Memoriae" was released in 2009 via band's own label Black Board Records. Just recently Pure Steel Publishing, another division of Pure Steel Records, represented the album.

"Destiny" is one of my favorites, heavy riff based, tight rhythm section and flashy lead fretwork, sonic fast pace vitalities that reminded me of GAMMA RAY. Embraced with keyboards oriented STRATOVARIUS style "Children Of The Sun" creates an utmost prevailing cascade, highly catchy and memorable. "Run With The Wolf" consumes that melodic Heavy Metal triumph of early SAXON, ascending with proto Speed / Power vivacity. "Three Clowns" providing the old True Metal taste, seething with fine riffs, power slashing drumming and amazing choir vocals, hints of early HAMMERFALL would come to mind. And sort of hymn to be reckoned with is also "The Old Men Say", be watchful. "Damnatio Memoriae" is an epic tune, cruising with BLACK SABBATH, a Metal anthem of the highest order no less, simply riffs, darkened mood and melodic frenzies. Also interesting are: "Unchained Soul" surfacing another Power Metal piece al'a STRATOVARIUS, partial symphonic and fractional classic Heavy Metal on "Wounded Knee" and the JUDAS PRIEST influences and great technique vocals on "Brave".

MEDUSA'S CHILD's latest, "Damnatio Memoriae", is an absolutely astounding release. Such a melodious album, catchy and heavy as it can be within the margin of Heavy / Power Metal. Fans of the Europeans lions of Heavy / Power Metal would want to lay their hands on this release, trust me that you won't be disappointed.


9 / 10

Almost Perfect

"Damnatio Memoriae" Track-listing:

1. Sun is the Witness
2. Unchained Soul
3. Run With The Wolf
4. Three Clowns
5. Children Of The Sun
6. Destiny
7. Prelude of Tragedy
8. Wounded Knee
9. Frozen Ground
10. The Old Men Say
11. Resurrection of a Dream
12. Brave
13. The Earth Only Endures
14. Birth Of Betrayal
15. Damnatio Memoriae
16. Funeral Of Hatred

Medusa's Child Lineup:

Crow - Vocals / Backing Vocals
Toni Bettschen - Guitars
Cyrill Probst - Guitars
Markus Moser - Bass
Adrian Jüsy - Drums

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram