The Chronicles Pt.1

Lucid Dreaming

LUCID DREAMING is recent one-man project by Till Oberboßel (ELVENPATH), that can be dubbed, to […]
By Tuoksu Holopainen
August 26, 2013
Lucid Dreaming - The Chronicles Pt.1 album cover

LUCID DREAMING is recent one-man project by Till Oberboßel (ELVENPATH), that can be dubbed, to Oberboßel's dismay, a "Metal Opera". A typical Power Metal fan would have mixed feelings about this release. The album also features a myriad of guest musicians and especially vocalists that are somewhat "underground".

The music is downright, rather mediocre Power Metal overloaded with ungodly fast tempos, multilayered anthem type male vocals but not short of female vocals either. Obviously, the point of this project is basically creating the typical  "Epic" feeling of Power Metal with long tracks of mostly six, seven or even eleven minutes. Oberboßel showcased a decent amount of talent as a guitarist of the genre, yet the songwriting is still relatively weak. It's definitely not the kind of material I'd revisit one day again after listening for the first time.

Well, there's not much to be said about this album. There are some fairly good moments, yet it lacks some edge and hooks to keep you captivated longer. 

6 / 10

Had Potential

"The Chronicles Pt.1" Track-listing:

1. Introduction
2. Motherless Child
3. The Quest For The White Pig
4. Side By Side
5. To Caer Dathyl
6. Swords For Prydain
7. Land Of Darkness
8. Where Evil Rides
9. The Price
10. No Turning Back
11. Farewell

Lucid Dreaming Lineup:

Till Oberboßel  - Guitars
Various Of Artists

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram